Writer Wednesday


Aaand it’s August already, can you believe it! I’m not a seaside person, so I’m not going anywhere yet. I have one week off and will split it between Garfagnana and London. In the meantime, here’s a summary of wordcount.

In July I wrote approx. 40K, more or less like in June, which brings the yearly total to a little over 300K, so I might hit my 500K goal this year, yay! πŸ™‚

This coming weekend I will expand Norman Blood with special thanks to betas comments and the fact that it will probably be just an Ace Double, that Wyrd Worlds Battlefield 1066 project. Or maybe we’ll just give up on the project and I’ll publish the novella with Kaylyn. I’ll have to print both and take them with me when I’m off – and mostly offline – for a week! πŸ™‚

Now, like I mentioned, I’m back into the Star Minds universe and I’m alternating moods in Star Minds Interregnum Volume 2. Aliens on Earth is light, Sire Minds is not.

crying

I didn’t, but then… maybe I was tired and not in the mood. I’ve had lumps in my throat so far, but no real tears. Will try to read it again in a few days and see what effect it has on me – if it makes me cry again! πŸ˜‰

Writerly links! Creating a sense of wonder in the various kinds of fantasy novels. Which in my case includes Star Minds, since it’s science fantasy. And then Silvery Earth as well. And probably the historical fantasy of Vampires Through the Centuries. I guess I’m still working on worldbuilding after all these years! πŸ˜‰

And if you feel like an impostor, here’s a love letter to you. I don’t feel like an impostor (might be because my success is happening so slowly that sometimes I wonder IF I’m having any success by my own standards, haha!) and probably the fact that I became addicted to writing long before the internet, critical voice and all that stuff helps.

It still breaks my heart when I read a query that begins “I am seeking representation for…” – I’m sorry, I can’t get past that sentence. If you’re still looking for an agent for your novel in the 21st century, you’re even more out of touch than I am. Looking forward to more posts explaining why agents are useless in the brand new world of publishing… And why you shouldn’t go trad with a novel with those draconian contracts.

But it’s your book, your life and your career, and I’m just plain nobody, so I won’t tell you what to do. Have a great week! πŸ™‚

Previous Post
Next Post
Comments are closed.