Sunday Surprise


My name is Brenda de Zorig and I’m a journalist for the Konigtown Gazette. I’ve been on the road for years as an actress in an itinerant company, but eventually decided to go back to my hometown to start living of the thing I like the most – writing. So while I write my Masterpiece, I took this job at the Gazette and they send me on various assignments… I thought I might as well starting interviewing random people. Since I intend to write fiction, but truth is always stranger than fiction, I’m eager to hear about people out there – on my world or beyond.

We have two people here today… Two handsome, mysterious men… Let’s start with the younger. Tell me a little about yourself

My name is Zafar Nagarkar, but the galaxy got to know me as Zaphadin, the king of music. I’m thirty-five now and I retired from the spotlight – at least with that stage name. I might come back with my real name for other artistic endeavors. I love dancing and singing, but I’m a complete entertainer, so I wouldn’t mind try acting as well.

Describe your appearance in ten words or less.

Brown curls and bedroom eyes… Boneless body when I dance!

Do you have an enemy or nemesis? If so, who are they and how did they become an enemy?

Besides myself, I guess my mighty manager Dahumada became the enemy. I trusted him too much and he squeezed the life out of me, giving me a complete nervous breakdown. I was young when I met him, and he promised me fame and fortune… and he did give it to me, but…

Would you kill for those you love? And would you die for them?

I’m a meek Ypsilantian man, I couldn’t kill anyone. And I’m very queasy in the presence of blood. As for dying for the ones I love… I was very close to attempt suicide, but never found the courage to do it.

Where do you live?

On Marc’harid, the former Imperial planet. I was born on Ypsilanti, lived fifteen years on Vilas Lok – when I was in the music business – and now I’ve retired on Marc’harid, preparing for my next projects.

Are you involved in a relationship? If so, with who and what is it about them that you find appealing?

Yes! Although I almost lost him! He was my professor at university, I fell in love with him at nineteen. He was with me when I started my music career, but soon I got carried away and completely forgot him. He’s the only one I ever loved – he’s older than me and can be a father, a brother, a lover… and he writes marvelous song lyrics and stories and… can you tell that I adore him? I’m going to marry him!

What is the biggest challenge you face in the story?

Get out of the celebrity machine. Ten years of struggles before I could actually be free.

Do you have a family? Tell me about them.

I’m the third of three children. My elder sister Jaya has always been my supporter. My mother opposed my dreams at first, but when she saw how I came alive on stage (at Jaya’s wedding), she forgave me and allowed me to be what I wanted to be – even though on Ypsilanti men don’t have much freedom.

Please give me an interesting and unusual fact about yourself.

I think I said it all in my autobiography…

ZaphadinDTFAll right, I guess we’ll have to read the book then… Let’s hear your partner, here. Tell me a little about yourself

My name is Rashaun Khanna, I’m a professor of Ypsilantian culture. I lost my post at Lycoris University to follow Zafar in his dream, so I became a writer. I still do some teaching to make ends meet, but most of my income is royalties from the stories I write.

Describe your appearance in ten words or less.

Tall and dark-haired.

What is your role in the story?

I was Zafar’s manager until Dahumada walked into our lives. Zafar was a wedding singer and a model who wanted so much more… So we followed Dahumada to Vilas Lok, where at first he hired me to write Zafar’s songs and then did his best to throw me out of Zafar’s life. He succeeded – keeping us apart for ten years.

What is your relationship with the protagonist?

I absolutely adore him. Who wouldn’t? He’s so handsome and sweet and… I wasn’t much older than my students when I met him, and I’ve had another student coming at me, but only Zafar swept me away. I couldn’t resist him.

Where do you live?

Ypsilanti, except for the brief stay on Vilas Lok. I was there only for five of Zafar’s fifteen-years career. Then I went home. Well, of course now we both moved to Marc’harid, but that’s another story.

What is the biggest challenge you face in the story?

He let me go – apparently forgot me for his career. But ten years later he came back, drained, and as soon as I lay my eyes on him, I knew he was still the only man I wanted to spend my life with. I had found someone else by then, but Aryan immediately knew he couldn’t compete with Zafar. Zafar owns my heart since he was nineteen.

_____________________

King of Music – Zaphadin (the true story of the man behind the myth)

He loved to entertain his friends with songs and dance moves. And one day at a wedding banquet he met the manager who made him a galactic phenomenon – he can dance, he can sing, he can entertain you like nobody else, he’s the king of the music business! During his fifteen years career, the star of Zaphadin kept rising in popularity while at the same time the man’s morale plummeted into desperation. That’s why at the height of his fame, he walked away from it all.

Previous Post
Comments are closed.