Writer Wednesday


And the surprise Sunday was… a new release announcement, since I didn’t have anything else to post! So hope you checked the latest Amazons title, soon to be included in Amazon Summer, out later this month.

And it’s June! I’m Author of the Month at Goodreads group Smashwords Authors! Drop by and leave a question or follow the conversation… The first batch of questions already made me think! πŸ˜€ I thank Tori for asking… I should write posts about that stuff, don’t you think? πŸ˜‰

So, after reading David Gaughran’s post on Noise Trade, I uploaded a story there. The suggested tip is 1$ since the ebook isΒ  for sale at 99cents… but you can also get it for free! Trying to build that mailing list… so the title will be available only for the month of June. In July I’ll upload another title and so on and so forth.

And it’s official! I’m a Loncon program participant! I gave my availability, now we’ll see what panels I can find to be on! πŸ™‚ If you signed up for Loncon, let me know and we might be able to get together! πŸ˜‰

I checked my writerly schedule and I’m free to keep writing in English this month, since the translation is for next month, yay! So I’m finishing the Assassins’ Guild prequel, I’ll write a couple of Amazons shorts to see if I can send them to magazines and anthologies, and then I’ll do the second draft of the body switch.

Or maybe I’ll just work on the Assassins’ Guild and the body switch. The first is growing on me – what was supposed to be short prequels to Saif’s Legacy is becoming a full-fledged novella about Kilig and Saif and the other assassins (that you will see again in Kilig and Hakeem’s story – the ones that are still alive, that is!). I’m exploring those lands after the fall of the southern kingdoms and before the birth of the Varian Empire, trying to figure out what kind of city-states survived, so it’s lot of world-building, i.e. fun! πŸ˜‰

As for the body switch, I might change the setting or leave it as is… but I want to wait until the middle of June to read it with a fresh eye along with the betas comments, and then make up my mind! πŸ™‚

Writerly links: there’s still a lot going on about the Amazon/Hachette negotiations, which made even the Passive Guy be less passive and had Joe Konrath fisking James Patterson again, or you could check Hugh Howey’s view on the so-called monopolyΒ  and see Amazon’s reply on Joe Konrath’s blog.

Or you could just check how to find the ways to success as a writer with thinking for yourself. There is no gospel for wannabes out there. Research and experiment. And be happy with what you achieve! πŸ™‚ And if you manage to quit your day job to go fulltime writing, please post it on the Passive Guy’s blog! I’m still working on it, but one day… πŸ˜‰

Have a great week!

 

Previous Post
Next Post
Comments are closed.