Wednesday Weekly Roundup


Stories from the Twilight Zone. Foreword by Anne Serling. In my father's final interview he said that he felt his writing was "momentarily adequate." And, when asked what he wanted people to say about him, as a writer, a hundred years from then, he responded, "I don't care that they're not able to quote any single line that I've written. But just that they can say, 'Oh, he was a writer. Thatìs sufficiently an honored position for me.'"

and that’s enough for me as well!

So I wrote. Slowly but steadily working on the current WIP and planning the next book with Google maps and Wikipedia and all that stuff needed when writing in the real world, in places I’ve never been to (and never will, at least in the current case – Africa is too hot for my tastes). 12K last week, and I’m almost done with Book 7 too. Onward to book 8 this week, I guess.

I was thinking I wouldn’t extend the Smashwords sale, but after reading Kris Rusch’s post, I decided to do it at least for Future Earth Chronicles – with 9$ you get 5 ebooks and a complete arc about life after the apocalypse! And since it was either all or nothing, here’s the list of the discounted books again… only on Smashwords, extended to May 31!

And I also have a new title out – the last of the Lone Wolves, Fabio, who almost speaks like his great uncle Daniele, since even though Earth is now part of the Star Nations in this alternate future, he still grew up in Rome and sometimes uses the same words that probably drove text-to-speech and other software crazy in the Trilogy or wherever Daniele was present! 😉

And of course it was already live when I realized I used the wrong background image (the watermarked version, not the actual JPG) on the cover… so one hour on Sunday late afternoon, just before dinner, was spent changing the cover everywhere, including Facebook. You can tell I’m not really myself from the rookie mistakes on the latest two titles! 😉

Next month more Team’s missions… meanwhile, happy reading! I’m currently on those Stories from the Twilight Zone that I mention above, having finished at least one of the bundles I still have on KK.

Another Kickstarter worth backing if you’re a writer – Writing Bundles (and workshops)! I am not ready to launch anything, maybe next year or later, but I’m keeping an eye on projects and will post the links here if I think they might interest you.

A friend of mine has a new ebook out, And Then…: An Assortment of 12 Delectable Tea-time Cookies (link to Amazon.com), a collection of 12 quick-to-read and delightful-to-savor stories in various genres. Also, there’s this new anthology out – no, I’m not in it, but I thought you might enjoy it:

It’s time to turn the “man and his dog wandering through a dystopian world” trope on its head, and tell the stories about cats and their women – their badass women!

CAT LADIES OF THE APOCALYPSE
Available in print and ebook from your favorite online retailers

RE: Covid-19, if you have enough of all this misinformation gone viral, here you have a few fact-checking by an expert trying to stop this. The guys knows his stuff. Feel free to follow all the links he gives. Also, if you wonder why some people are still not staying at home, here’s a research explaining our psychological response to Covid-19.

And here’s some words of wisdom about it all from The Chuck Wendig himself. I guess we’re all broken right now, and even if I’m still writing, it doesn’t mean that I feel good. I’m seeing a lot of things going in the backburner and my expectations are null – I have lost them and don’t see them anywhere around me. I will need some searching to get back on track.

Ending on a ligher mode, if you want to chuckle, check the 13 wildest conspiracy theories of all times, starting from Covid-19 is caused by 5G (debunked above)… But onward we go! Have a great week! 🙂

 

Previous Post

5 Comments

  1. Just for people to hear my name and be able to know I am/was a writer is enough for me too. Even if all they can do is say something like, “Oh, yeah… I know that name. Isn’t/wasn’t she a writer?” and then can’t think of one of my titles off the top of their heads. Just that they know is enough. 🙂

    I’ve continued my participation in the sale too. Might as well. Besides, it saved me thinking of something nice to do for my publishing anniversary (April 22nd). So the nice thing I did was continue to have my books on sale. Maybe it will increase the chances of people remembering I’m a writer… Even if they’re only grabbing the titles that ended up free in the sale so far.

    I’ve been doing better with writing during the past week. Made much more progress with editing the official WIP (just want to give it one more go through, because… Typo fairies) and even started another story. I have to agree with your comment about how just because you’re writing doesn’t mean you’re OK though. It sums me up right now too. I’m at a place where I can write again, but I’m not OK. My muse has just stopped cowering in a corner crying for long enough for us to agree to help each other through this.

    Like

    • it’s actually perfect for prolific writers who have more than one “masterpiece” out, LOL!
      Happy PUblishing Anniversary just gone by… may you continue publishing for another hundred years! 🙂
      And yay for writing, and don’t berate yourself if you don’t do as much as you used to. I’m happy I wrapped up a book, but I’m still way behind on everything else. Writing is the only thing that keeps me sane, obviously! 😀

      Like

  2. Thanks! I’m not sure even writing’s enough to help me keep what remains of my sanity right now – assuming anything does actually remain of it, which is debatable. 😉

    Like

    • Normal is overrated. Writers are insane by definition. Therefore we’ll be all right! 🙂
      Hugs 😘

      Like

  3. Good point. I guess I have nothing to worry about then. 😉 *hugs*

    Liked by 1 person