Wednesday Weekly Roundup


Last week I wrote almost 6K, but again, I was able to write only from Friday afternoon. Now I should be able to be back writing daily, since I finished reading for the workshop, yay! Back to the Star Minds Universe, although I might not wrap everything up before I leave – but you’ll have something coming out in March, don’t worry! πŸ™‚

Since I’m done reading for the workshop, I started a non-fiction book I bought last summer in Edinburgh. I’ll need it for that story I have post-poned writing and I found out it’s actually perfect for Black History Month! Medieval Africa 1250 – 1800 is currently showing me that black slave trade was actually started by the Arabs long before Europeans managed to colonize Africa.

My wandering Norse vampire will probably go to the Mali Empire and sail with that emperor who vanished with his ships long before Columbus reached the New World. And he will definitely find his way back to this side of the world, since he even survived the apocalypse! πŸ™‚

And I got another couple of rejections. It’s the third year in a row that I submit to those anthologies, and this time the reply included this note:

While we enjoyed reading the story, we have decided to pass on including it in the anthology where it was submitted.Β  Please keep in mind that we had over 1400 submissions and we accepted 22 stories total, so competition was tough.

Wow. Talk about competition! I guess that market will be tougher to crack from now on! One more waiting for results, as well as the coming up Anthology Workshop, then I better start sending out stuff again! πŸ˜‰ I will try to be optimist and keed trying!

The publisher’s page is now safe! (or at least the home page is, doesn’t seem to work on the other pages) I asked my Awesome Webmaster to add the https to it. Eventually it will have a shop (not this year, not the next, but it’s in the future), so that’s always good. Especially with major retailers and publishers bailing on Amazon, so eventually I’ll do it too.

I should start working on the promised paperbacks, but will probably do when I come back and prepare the publishing schedule for the coming months. Stay tuned for more Lone Wolves and a makeover of the contemporary titles along with a new one. Then I’ll either go back to Silvery Earth or go with the new series. We’ll see.

And I would like to publicly thank Brit Marling for her awesome article about the strong female lead. There was always something that bugged me in the Hero’s Journey, and now I know what or why. That’s also why I don’t really write that kind of story, because I’m not interested in any of it.

So here’s to hope more women write stories for women that don’t have Lara Croft types of heroines! πŸ™‚ Or, which might be fun, someone actually writes the Lady Hero’s Journey! πŸ˜‰

Last couple of days for the Celebrating Male Lovers bundle… get it now! Leaving you with the usual writerly quote… have a great week!

We make something good, a blintz, a story, by having worked at blintzmaking or storywriting till we’ve learned how to do it.

With a blintz, the process is fairly routine. With stories, the process is never twice the same. Even a story written to the most prescriptive formula, like some westerns or romances, can be made poorly, or made well.

Making anything well involves a commitment to the work. And that requires courage: you have to trust yourself. It helps to remember that the goal is not to write a masterpiece or a best-seller. The goal is to be able to look at your story and say, Yes. That’s as good as I can make it.

Ursula K. Le Guin

 

Previous Post

4 Comments

  1. Yes, that’s definitely some fierce competition. Nice you even got some kind of response with them having that many submissions to deal with.

    That’s a good word count, especially considering you’ve needed to devote a lot of time to reading. I wasn’t quite as productive this week as I was last week, but still made a bit of progress on my story, and wrote a couple more poems (a few more of those, and I’ll have reached my poetry writing goal for the year already).

    Like

    • I should write more this week! πŸ˜‰
      And I hope WordPress will continue to post on my Author page like it did in the past, so I can avoid those stupid Facebook notices of me not posting anything. Again I had to manually post it on Facebook today, sigh.
      Technology… hope you’re done with the Barbathon! πŸ˜‰

      Like

  2. Facebook hasn’t been willing to post my blog posts for over a year. I only found out after my posts hadn’t been going up for several weeks. Really annoying. I used to have the posts go up on Twitter and Facebook automatically, but even Twitter stopped co-operating some time last year. *sigh*

    Nope. I took a break to read a couple of other things I needed to get to (two of the books in particular I was given spacifically in exchange for reviews) but now the Barbathon continues. πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • Technology… so helpful and so unhelpful at the same time!
      Happy reading!
      Hugs

      Like