Wednesday Weekly Roundup


Errata corrige: the previous week I actually wrote 11K. Last week only 6K, but I have reached a 440K yearly total and still have plenty of stuff to write in the next two months and a half. The less words are also because I started a new strip, and those have less words but more work on the drawings, LOL!

So this is one of the protagonists of the new strip – Star Minds Kids – and here you have a work-in-progress showing the birth of that particular strip. It’s similar to the ones I’ve done for Silvery Earth Kids. It was an upcoming anthology that spurred my imagination – very close to the deadline, even though I had been told about it months ago.

Nothing like a deadline to spur your muses into action, right? Next I’ll do something with the Cosmic Corsairs I already told you about and then develop that strip in the coming months. Again, it’s probably for next year. I guess that’s my way of procrastinating on the prose at this time, LOL!

I’m still trudging through my contemporary story and have jotted down notes for another short story that might take precedence when I’m done lettering the Silvery Earth Kids. I need to finish a proof of the English version before Friday, so I can order it on Lulu and receive it next week.

I plan on checking the paperback for changes and stuff, and then I want to take it to Lucca Comics and see if some publisher wants the Italian version before I go indie. So I might do little writing this week, but some projects need wrapping up! πŸ™‚

Some links: 6 effective ways to treat depression – still have to sign up for a dance class or some other kind of moving with music, but there’s so much going on right now, that I’m not sure I want to start something yet. Maybe in November, maybe in January. We’ll see.

For the indie writers out there – the (in)famous 7 Kindle Keywords: use all 50 characters or not? I’m probably totally misusing those keyword spaces, but I really have trouble finding sentences for my books. Even when I went through the various books to update the manuscripts, I didn’t really add anything to those fields… I should have, I know. Sigh.

I know that my WHY has nothing to do with publishing and all that stuff. The beating heart that keeps my muse alive definitely doesn’t care about algorithms and ads and all that publishing stuff! πŸ™‚ In fact I think I mentioned I have publishing fatigue, more than writing.

6 ways to stay productive in a creative slump – I think I’ve done some of these things even before reading the article, but it’s a good summary/reminder. I think I mentioned spending too much time doing research and not enough writing. Reading for research and not for entertainment.

Well, after discarding a few samples, I started reading a novel for entertainment. It’s traditionally published, but has plenty of mistakes. So I guess we can really live without traditional publishers. And the eBook was cheap, but is not very well formatted IMHO… but I shall tell more about it in my end of the year recommended list (or on Bookbub, since now my book recommendations are there and not on Goodreads)! πŸ™‚

And a new story is up on Infinite Bard! πŸ˜‰ Have a great week! πŸ˜€

Previous Post

3 Comments

  1. I imagine it takes a lot of work to do the strips, so understand why it would take a chunk of your writing time, and stop your word count being quite so high. Still, your word count is great, and you have plenty to show for all the time you’ve spent on the strips, so it doesn’t matter.

    Sometimes a looming deadline is just what my muse needs, other times a looming deadline has me freezing like a deer in headlights. Luckily, it was the former with my pirate story, or I wouldn’t have had it done in time for Talk Like A Pirate Day.

    In my experience – and I read for pleasure a lot, whether self-published books or traditionally published books, so I’ve had plenty of experience – traditionally published books are just as likely to have typos, editing issues, formatting issues, etc, as indie books. A lot of people insist it’s not the case, insisting traditionally published books are higher quality. But that’s not always the truth.

    Like

  2. I planned on surprising you with a home-made audio of the latest strip, but I really suck. I have it on my phone, though, so I can try to read it to you and enact it when we meet! πŸ™‚
    Now I’m writing another episode for the Star Minds Kids while finishing lettering the Silvery Earth Kids… and like I said, I don’t care if I don’t reach my goal this year. I’m already beyond my first attempt (I reached 400K the first year, 450K the second and finally hit 500K the third), so I’m not complaining! πŸ˜‰
    What’s also weird about that book is the thoughts in italics and some head-hopping, which is kind of strange for a title that came out in the 21st century. But I enjoy the mix of languages and it’s inspired by Victorian writers, so I’m not overly surprised! Okay, title reveal: The Peshawar Lancers. I’m one third in for now! πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Awesome about the strip. I’ll look forward to that. πŸ™‚

    The head-hopping thing is unusual these days… Most people have learned that’s not a good idea. But the thoughts in italics is still being promoted as being a good idea, so that one doesn’t surprise me.

    Like