Writer Wednesday


So, um, ah, well, let’s see… how can I put this? It’s the last month of the year and I’m already thinking about what’s next, what to change in the format of the blog, etc.

I think I’ll keep the posts name, but slightly change the Wednesday format. I’ll be talking about writing and sharing writerly links when I have them, but I won’t discuss writing progress anymore.

I’ll talk about the stories after they’re out there. But if I stumble into some interesting research or something, I’ll mention it here.

The past two years have been a turning point in my writing, therefore I want to change the output on the blog too. I still have a lot of stories on my want-to-write list, but I’ll keep the priority list to myself and you’ll know only when I’m done with them.

With the online craft workshops I’m slowly changing my way of writing, so it seems fitting that I change the blog contents. I’ll try to make a blog post about what I learned as soon as I manage to gather my scattered ideas, but for now I won’t discuss my writing anymore.

I ain’t a young writer and I’m not looking for anyone’s approval. Yes, I’m still looking for faithful readers, but I hope to hook them with the upcoming new stories. I’m dropping that baggage of old stuff – what’s out stays out there, and onward to the next adventure.

For 2017 I have very fluid plans and it’s fine. I might be slower in completing the stories, but I don’t care. I’ll submit the short ones to traditional markets before publishing them, and probably cut down the number of published stories as well, but so far I could be prolific because I had hundreds of old stories in my files.

From now on new stuff only, so less but better, hopefully. And I’ll keep learning from writing, possibly even outside of my comfort zone. I look forward to exploring new (for me) genres as well as continuing my tapestries of Silvery Earth, Star Minds and Vampires Through the Centuries!

So, no more talks of WiPs or projects, only the done things. Starting now, the last month of 2016. I’ll have an update on the yearly wordcount in January because that was this (and last) year’s challenge, but then I won’t keep count anymore – not in public at least.

This week’s links! Chuck Wendig’s gifts for writers! I don’t agree on some of them, but then… I’m an unusual writer, LOL! But the customizable notebook… (as if I didn’t have enough notebooks already, including 2 bought at the Delhi airport, LOL!)

And Sales vs. People vs. Artistic Freedom which sort of confirms what I said above. I always wrote for myself, not a fantomatic reader. So I’ll keep writing to entertain myself, hoping to find a few people who enjoy what I write as much as I enjoy writing it! 😀

Have a great week! 🙂

Previous Post
Next Post

4 Comments

  1. I’ve done something like that from the start. I only mention what I’m working on once I get it to a point where it’s close to being finished anyway.

    We’re also in a similar position when it comes to plans for next year’s writing projects. I’m out of old stories to work with too. I’ve got plenty of ideas, but I don’t have old stories I just need to do a little work on any more. I’m out of old poems too. All I have is what I’ve been working on over the past couple of months, and the only thing I have that’s even close to being finished is the story I’m publishing in the next couple of weeks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tori, you might be younger, but you’re way smarter than me! 😉
      here’s to a wonderfully productive year full of great new stories for both of us! 😀

      Like