Writer Wednesday


MTSK4DTFNew title out! More Tales of the Southern Kingdoms is now live on Kobo, Kindle, DriveThruFiction, Smashwords, Barnes&Noble and Apple! A collections of stories of the Southern Kingdoms, including Amrendra and the Hooded Man. If you haven’t checked the single novellas, go get the anthology now!

By the way, for the final weeks of the Smashwords sale, I enrolled even the previous two titles – 50% off, like the rest. So the latest upload is the only one at full price! ๐Ÿ™‚ The sale is ending soon, so hurry! Get that honorable mention novella for 1,50$ NOW! ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’m almost done with the S.K.Y.B.A.N.D. pencils, but then I’ll need to ink and then to color and then to letter and then the summer will be over before I know it, also because I’ll be away for a week and I don’t intend to take the drawing stuff with me. I’ll be writing then – Hakeem’s Rival probably, part 3 of the Assassins’ Guild story. So #14 won’t be ready for Loncon, even if it would be a good timing. But since I don’t do the print version of single issues anymore, it’s not that bad after all! ๐Ÿ˜€

And my final schedule for Loncon is as follow:

Old New Classics: The Off-Beat and Indie Comics of Yore

Saturday 13:30 – 15:00, Capital Suite 14 (ExCeL)

When people discuss the Golden Age and Silver Age of Comics the conversation is often dominated by the emergence of the superhero in both DC and Marvel. However, from its inception comics were always a fertile breeding ground for fun, weird, and alternative stories.
What influential, under-appreciated comics from the past deserve a higher profile today? What kind of comics would people like to see more of now, that were plentiful in the past?
Are we more progressive in comics today, or re-learning to embrace the medium?

with Scott Edelman, Smuzz, Allan J. Sim, Peter Sutton, Barbara G.Tarn

If you happen to be there, please show up and then we can have a coffee together! ๐Ÿ˜‰

This week’s buzz is, of course, Kindle Unlimited. In case you’ve been living under a rock, I’ve gathered a few links for you: Lucky Bat Books, Scott William Carter, Hugh Howey, David Gaughran, Smashwords… and I’m sure you can find tonz more. Enough for an informed decision.

The other “controversy” is the numbers shared by AuthorsEarnings.com. What about those numbers? The Guardian wrote about it, and Joe Konrath and Barry Eisler had to comment… Or, like PG says “since nobody on the tradpub side seems to act like a rational adult when discussions of self-publishing and Amazon occur, weโ€™re unlikely to be able to schedule an adult debate any time soon.”

Anyhow, welcome to the new and changing landscape of publishing. If you need help to cope, here’s a post for you. And like Jeff Bezos says “Your fear is my opportunity” (read the rest on Hugh Howey’s blog)… Have a great week!

Previous Post
Next Post

2 Comments

  1. Viv

     /  23/07/2014

    Eeek, I must get on and sort out my train ticket so we can have that meet-up!!

    Like