Sunday Surprise


ef35c8744d8253cb93bc3dc034cd5ce7dd630abfAnd it’s another fellow Wyrd Worlds author! I know, it looks that we all come from Europe – but we don’t! It’s really an international bunch! Stay tuned for more… In the meantime, ladies and gentlemen, please welcome Emma Faragher!

Where do you live and write from?

I live in Sheffield where I go to uni but I spend holidays with my family in Surrey. I write more from Surrey because I’m on holiday when I’m there!

When did you start writing?

I started writing when I was a child when I wrote bedtime stories for family friends. I started my first novel when I was 16 and finished it when I was 18. I started The House shortly afterwards.

What genre(s) do you write?

I write fantasy. My first novel was an epic fantasy but my current work is futuristic urban fantasy. I like building worlds in my writing and integrating magic into otherwise normal situations.

Where do you find your inspiration? Do you put yourself in your stories?

I try to avoid putting myself in my stories. It doesn’t feel like I have a lot of control over my books. The story is in my head and my job is just to put it down on paper. I can’t change things just because I don’t like them which makes character deaths very difficult when I realize what happens! I do quite a bit of research and use personal experiences to add depth to my writing. I try to experience as much as possible and love the outdoors.

Do you have a specific writing routine?

No, I have quite a lot of university work to do which always has to come first but I write whenever I can. Some parts are easier to write than others and I might go a month and only write 5000 words then do the same in a couple of days.

Outliner or improviser? Fast or slow writer?

I do a bit of both. The plot evolves as I write it but I know what is going to happen through the whole series. As I said my writing speed varies hugely depending on the part of the book I’m writing. I write actions scenes much faster than anything else.

Tell us about your latest book

652ad401e3dcf58844734ed7d0b1d10bdd29b7d0-thumbMy latest released work is called ‘The House’. It’s about Trix, a 22-year-old shapeshifter living in 23rd Century Devon. When shifters start to go missing Trix is left responsible for finding them. Between losing her mentor and haywire magic it’s not going to be easy and there seems to be more going on than they first thought. There is more at stake than just a few shifters, it could be the biggest disaster the supernatural community has seen since the witch hunts.

Link (US): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00C1C8JLM

Link (UK): https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00C1C8JLM

The book is also available through smashwords for other formats.

Indie publishing or traditional publishing – and why?

Indie publishing. I couldn’t cope with the rejection from traditional publishing and since friends had asked to read the novel I decided to go with indie publishing.

Any other projects in the pipeline?

I’m currently working on book 2 of the Trix SinClara series called ‘The Solstice”. It follows on from The House and I’m hoping to have it out early next year.

What is your goal as a writer and what are you doing to achieve it?

My aim is to keep writing. I’d love to be successful one day but I’m not looking for fame or fortune. I love to write and I’d keep writing even if I couldn’t publish!

Where to find Emma: Goodreads, author blog and Google+.

Previous Post
Comments are closed.