Random Friday


So, because I couldn’t stare at screens for long, I spent the past two weeks mostly reading (except on the first night of the keratitis, when I had to finish re-watching Jodhaa Akbar, haha). I finished what I had started on Kindle after a couple of days I could barely keep my eyes open, and then it was the turn of a dead-tree book on my TBR pile – actually, the latest I bought, but since I start from the smaller, it jumped the line, haha.

So, now I know why I didn’t read much before the indie revolution! I bought that Danielle Steele book at a remainder last August because I was curious about her – since she’s a beststeller, I wanted to know how she writes. And it’s not for me. Bummer. Although I could have probably told you that before buying the book, but I don’t like to criticize what I don’t know! 🙂

Mind you, she can write. She’s a pro. She’s a bestseller. But her stories are just not for me. I found them boring, repetitive and with too many descriptions (you know, those settings other writers keep requesting to me…). I wasn’t too taken by her characters – but I guess it’s because I’m not really into mainstream fiction or romance.

Oh, and the telling! Telling telling telling… what happened to “show don’t tell”? Those rules don’t apply anymore? Or they don’t apply to bestsellers? So a young author starting now will never feel ready, since s/he keeps being told “don’t do this, don’t do that”… by editors (or other wannabe writers)! 😦 I’m sooo happy I grew up before the internet and in a country where creative writing is still not something taught at universities (but only at private courses)! 😉 Or I’d be like the writer friend of this writer, who is stuck in non-submission hell (that’s a now hell for writers) because of the conflicting rules she finds around…

And Mrs Steele even uses the omniscient narrator, which was a nice surprise, since I read everywhere that it’s a no-no – maybe only in genre fiction? – and I should never ever use it because of the “no head-hopping” rule. Now, I’m getting used to third person limited and like it very much, but I still think that one day I might go back to that omniscient narrator that  graced my prose for 30+ years – before creative writing courses and critique groups! 😉

So, this is not really a review, more a ramble on writing – which is supposed to happen on Wednesdays, sorry, I even added a writerly link. But writers must also read a lot, even if my new review policy means I won’t review my readings anymore, so sometimes when reading I’ll be a writer again (I still read like a reader, not like a writer, but obviously I’m more conscious of styles and stuff now). I write what I want to read – and Mrs Steele is not what I want to read. Not my cup of tea – but I’m sure millions of her fans enjoy her every book! 🙂

I’m very happy with this brand new world of publishing, where I can find things more of my tastes that might never become bestsellers, but flow better IMHO. True, it’s not easy to wade through the slush pile, but I think one can always find little gems among the shit that is out there. And give another author like me, struggling to get through, five minutes of happiness.

IMG_8646On a random final note, while I was nursing my eye, I received the calendars I did on Lulu. So you can have your Keanu or Hrithik calendar for 2014 as well, if you feel so inclined! 🙂 Have a great weekend! 😀

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Your artwork is lovely!

    I’ve read a few Danielle Steele, also to see what she does and see how I like it. Honestly, I didn’t like it at first but by the end of the book I did. Mainly I wanted to study how she gets her story across, but I don’t care for the romance genre in general. Right now I’m reading the Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan and that’s much more my kind of read.

    Like

    Reply
    • I know what you mean. Although when I stare at “Game of Thrones” I think I’ll never start that little brick (it’s the paperback, but it’s still a door-stopper! 😉 I should have bought the ebook – less daunting, LOL!)

      Like

      Reply
      • I have so little time to read, but a long commute to work and back, so I’ve started listening (either on Audible or using my Kindle’s read out loud function). That has made a tremendous difference in the amount of material, both fiction and non-fiction, that I get to “read” now. But I’ll be leaving that job and commute at the end of the year, so next year I’ll probably return to the visual reading and won’t get nearly so much done on that front. I listened to the whole GoT series and was able to truly enjoy it. I found the reading of it too tedious, but I loved the television/HBO rendition too.

        Like

        Reply
        • yes, the Kindle text-to-speech feature is cool when my eyes hurt or I’m doing something else (like drawing), but I don’t like listening to books much…
          As for George RR Martin, someone told me I write like him, so I MUST read him at some point! 😉 Besides, I don’t watch TV (I use it to watch DVDs of movies, I never get down to watching TV series, not even the old ones that I loved, sigh)…

          Like

          Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

