Writer Wisdom Sunday


Every Sunday until December and unless I have a guest, I will share words of wisdom from writers on writing. Enjoy!

So write what you want, but consider your reasons carefully. Are you writing for a paycheck? Are you writing to fulfill a primal need? Are you writing to win awards or fame? Figure out what you’re trying to accomplish, and then look at how you can best reach that goal.

No matter why you’re writing, keep writing!

– David Farland

That was my big lesson. I had to redefine success and success was getting better at my craft and finding my voice as opposed to selling a script, getting an agent and making a lot of money.

– Allan Loeb, screenwriter

And by the way, everything in life is writable about if you have the outgoing guts to do it, and the imagination to improvise. The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt.

– Sylvia Plath

The creative is the place where no one else has ever been. You have to leave the city of your comfort and go into the wilderness of your intuition. What you’ll discover will be wonderful. What you’ll discover is yourself.

– Alan Alda, screenwriter

I think every writer needs privacy surrounding the way they write. It’s great to share some of the knowledge we have, but much of the magic which happens during the writing process can’t be explained or shared. I think that’s how it should be. Sometimes I read posts about rules and processes and I get so overwhelmed with all the noise. It’s good to learn these things and understand them, but the only thing that’s going to make your writing truly amazing is to find the place where you forget everything else and trust yourself. Nobody can tell you how to do that but you.

– Michelle Davisdon Argyle, writer and blogger

Previous Post
Comments are closed.