Links and musings


Another week is gone, where is time flying? Upcoming for most of you out there is the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award, opening on the 24th and ending Feb.6 or whenever they reach 5000 entries, so hurry. Why is it not for me? Because in spite of opening Amazon Italia, Italy ISN’T in the countries allowed to participate. India, China, Austria, Belgium (to name a few non-English speaking countries), but not Italy. Maybe when I become a Kindle best-seller author they’ll open to submissions from Italy? But then it would be too late for me anyway! πŸ˜‰

Another interesting discussion is between Dean Wesley Smith and agent Mary Kole, pointing to the fact we’ll eventually have agented/packaged writers vs. indy. Now, “packaging” is one of the reasons I quit screenwriting. I don’t want a village taking care of my babies, like agentΒ Rachelle Gardner says. I don’t believe in families either, so I’ll go solo – I’m sick of waiting for other people’s approval. Like Joe Konrath says:

Surfing the interwebs, I’ve found that the most vocal opponents to writers self-publishing seem to be:

Writers.

I have one more reason to go indy this year – watch me get my 5000 readers! πŸ˜‰

Another reason is this Open Letter I found tag surfing (slow week at work, had time to do it). I am sort of in Cat’s situation – 45 and living in Italy. And I don’t think book signings help sell more copies, but then… there aren’t book signings in Italy. It’s something I already noticed at comicons and book fairs: in France people line up to have their (comic)books signed, even by unknown authors, even children; in Italy, if you’re not Umberto Eco or the latest reality show winner, nobody will show up. That’s why I’m very happy (almost) everything can be done online these days. There’s no such thing as age and availability anymore in my humble opinion.

ο»Ώ

For genre writers, on Clarion blog the editor of resurrected Realms of Fantasy tells what he’s looking for for upcoming issues. They will even accept poetry! So if you’re still after that short-stories paying market, check Douglas Cohen’s post.

I have completed the book trailer for Jessamine and resubmitted for Premium Distribution on Smashwords, as there were two minor glitches… let me know what you think. I’m enjoying making this book trailers! πŸ˜‰ Do they come out right or look amateurish?

That’s all for today and this week! Have a great weekend everybody! πŸ˜€

6 Comments

  1. Madison Woods

     /  22/01/2011

    I’ve never made a trailer yet, but I loved the graphics in yours. My favorite frame was the one where she is dressed in a blue gown with gold wrap, holding the sword point down. Looks good to me πŸ™‚

    Like

    • that’s also the cover of the novella! πŸ˜‰ Other drawings were a bit rushed, I admit it… hope it tells enough to make you want to check the story (you don’t have to, just let me know if it prompts you or what)

      Like

    • Madison Woods

       /  23/01/2011

      It’s not that I thought the other frames looked rushed, but that I loved the posture of the character and rich colors of her clothing in that one.

      The trailer did make me want to know the story. What I am wondering though, is it a graphic novel or the usual kind (what do we call the usual kind, lol?) Ordinarily I wouldn’t be interested in the graphic sorts, but I like your artwork enough to want to see the whole thing even if it were graphic.

      Like

      • It’s a novella, in this case. I had started to draw the graphic novel, but stopped at the very beginning. Then I posted the prose version on Serial Central (it’s still there). Then I revised it, and this is the “new” version of the novella, so it’s prose. So I had some drawings from the graphic novel, and had to do new ones for the rest of the story… and a new cover, as I didn’t like the one I had prepared for the graphic novel! πŸ˜‰

        Like

  2. Amazon Breaththrough Novel Award? I hadn’t heard of this. Interesting. Thanks for bringing it to my attention.

    You go indy and be proud, Barb! I’m rooting for you.

    Jai

    Like

    • I heard about it last year, and suggested it to an American friend… I saw it again this year and couldn’t remember why I didn’t do it – reading the rules (it’s right at the beginning) I remembered! πŸ˜‰
      Ah, well, one day the borders WILL fall…

      Like