Random Friday


Total random stuff. I watched the French DVD I got in Paris and it was as funny but sad as expected – a family dramedy with a happy ending. And I rewatched Any Body Can Dance 2, just for the dancing, since there’s no real story in that series, LOL! Which, considering has me mixing a European and an Asian movie and enjoying both for different reasons, takes me to the next random topic, cultural appropriation.

I read this wonderful article on whose culture is it anyway, and what about hybridity and thought the author made great points. I’m Italian, but I grew up in France and Switzerland, in an international town (Geneva) with people from all over the world, then came back to the Eternal City and hated it.

Still today, almost 40 years later, I get irritated when I’m pinned down as Italian and asked if I do this or that – I don’t. I feel international, I love a lot of stuff from a lot of countries and I don’t think it’s cultural appropriation. When I write, I try to be respectful of whatever culture I try to cover and to find people in that culture/religion who can help me fact-check. *waves at beloved cover artist*

But sometimes I’ve stumbled on such harsh cultural appropriation articles that condemt it completely, that I almost felt guilty to try to write a story of humanity as a whole and not as a single ethnicity/religion/race. I was even irked by the clearly European and tattooed young woman who visited the Taj Mahal with a sari (maybe I was envious, LOL!).

Thing is – I’m not trying to appropriate anything. I’m enjoying the diversity of this crazy world. And soon I’ll start on a projection of our future, it will be utopia (with a dark side) but I intend to put a society where skin color doesn’t matter and the borders are no more. You might call it globalization, but it’s still a post-apocalipse story, hehe! 😉

So I plan to have black people, Asians and white people all living together and not being bothered by race or religion. They’ll have other problems to face! 😉 And I’ll try to come up with a culture that is a fusion of all we have today (it’s set in the 22nd century, so plenty of time to develop that) plus possibly something original.

Mission impossible? Probably. We’ll know at the end of August. Have a great weekend! 😀

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I hope you do pull off that story, because I’m now looking forward to reading it. Mind you, I generally enjoy all your books, and I’m a fan of post apocalyptic stories anyway, so I don’t suppose that news is shocking. 😉

    Like

    Reply
    • LOL! Thank you, Tori!
      I’m still trying to figure out how that future society works… but hopefully tomorrow I’ll start writing! Taking a last day off to proofread an Italian story, then moving on…

      Like

      Reply
  2. Excellent article. The accident of birth in a particular culture should not define a person or limit them. If everyone had multicultural backgrounds it would make this a much better and more peaceful world. To write of different cultures is to spread knowledge. Carry on, it is good work.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Exactly… As long as one avoids stereotypes why limit oneself? Methink “write what you know” is b*** after a few years of writing. Besides, l write in genres that allow me to make up stuff! 😉

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

