Random Friday


A little bit of random randomness. I’m not on Twitter but on Facebook some friends commented on the little bird’s trend #italiansareblack. Besides showing the usual American ignorance of history (the normans conquered Sicily in the 11th century, taking it from the Moors, and in Sicily there are blond and blue-eyed people) I’m still not sure what the fuss is about.

They usually have to ask me where I come from and then gape at me because I’m tall and blue-eyed (I wouldn’t count the blond hair, since it’s colored, LOL!). And where I speak the language (ex. France) they don’t even notice I’m not local.

I actually love different skin tones and racial features, since we’re all beautiful in our own unique ways. In the 80s there was a magazine who pasted together women’s best facial features (I don’t remember who were the beauties of the time except for probably Brooke Shields and definitely Farrah Fawcett’s hair – Charlie’s Angels original TV series rules, LOL!) and the result was… meh. Yuk. You get the point.

I was lucky enough to grow up in an international environment (Geneva) where there were children from all over the world and of all colors. But I already did a post about it six years ago.

Oh, and Mattel is now making different Barbie dolls and even different Ken dolls… glad I got a boyfriend for my Barbie Miss 1974 before this and that the princesses don’t need boyfriends with modern clothes or man-buns! 😀

the whole bunch

Anyway, back to the present. A friend of mine has become a citizen of Asgardia after reading a CNN article. And even though the concept is interesting, I’m kind of bummed… a Kingdom… in space? I don’t care if it’s a constitutional monarchy, it’s still a kingdom! In the 21st century!

So I’m still debating if I could write a story about it or join that off-world nation, albeit in a virtual way. I’m also gathering my research for the next novel even though it’s set more or less in one country (and its neighbors), where people have brown skin or so they say. I honestly don’t notice.

I’ll end with a link to Paul Mc Cartney’s idea for a song and  list of my non-caucasian favorite actors whom I find particularly handsome. In no particular order… Aissa Maiga, Djimon Hounsou, Ziyi Zhang, Takeshi Kaneshiro, Arjun Rampal, Omar Sy, Zoe Saldana, Barbara Mori, Indira Varma, “older” stars Victoria Abril, Denzel Washington, Hiroyuki Sanada, Rekha – and Da Muses, of course! 😉 Have a  great weekend! 😀

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I’m on Twitter, but still missed it. Mind you, with how little I check Twitter and Facebook each day (especially compared to most people) that’s not surprising.

    Even if it was true, I hate the stereotyping thing, especially since there are exceptions to every rule. I mean, with all the people who settled in countries they weren’t originally from at one point or another in history – either because they chose to, were forced to, their country conquered the other one, or whatever – you’d think people would be less amazed that some people carry genes that make them the exception. Not to mention, why does it matter? I mean, why are we still so caught up in obsessing over skin colour in this day and age?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • My point exactly! It seems that the Germans who approved of Hitler are back in some other form… when, oh, when will we have a world without borders where everybody loves and supports everybody else? 😦

      Like

      Reply
  2. I have no idea what that is about… I guess I will google :p

    Like

    Reply
    • LOL! Italians are black, don’t you know that? We’re actually African according to some! Now some of my friends may look Arab… Or even from India, with their olive skin.
      Besides l met very racist ltalians who insisted black people were monkeys, so stupity – l mean racism is everywhere…

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

