Sunday Surprise


One more for the ride! And one more that I met in person! I am thrilled to have her onboard! Ladies and gentlemen, please welcome Debbie Mumford!

Where do you live and write from?

I make my home in the beautiful Pacific Northwest of the USA. Vancouver, Washington to be exact. No, not Vancouver, British Columbia, that’s in Canada, several hundred miles north of where I live. Vancouver, Washington is just across the Columbia River from Portland, Oregon, and in some ways, is a bedroom community to Portland.

As to the question of my writing, I don’t have an actual office. I write on a MacBook Pro laptop, sitting in my favorite chair in the living room … with my feet up. What can I say? I’m into comfort! With my body at ease, my mind is free to wander into other worlds and visit possibilities of existences other than our own.

Why do you write?

I’m an avid reader—I think most writers are—and I’ve always found myself saying, “Yes, but what if that happened?” At some point, I stopped wondering about nuances of other writers’ worlds and decided to create my own. It’s harder than you’d think, being the god of an imagined world, but at the same time, it’s exhilarating and freeing. When I’m really in the zone, I’m completely submerged in my story. Words rush from my subconscious through my fingers onto the screen without me being consciously aware of what I’ll write next. It’s like magic! Characters do things I hadn’t even dreamed of, and my surface mind wonders, “What will they do next?”

Ultimately, that’s why I write…to discover what happens next.

When did you start writing?

I can truthfully say that I wrote my first story before I could read. I dictated it to my mother and then illustrated it with crayon drawings!

Then came a LONG period of no writing other than school assignments and later, Christmas newsletters. I thought about writing often while I was raising my children, but time with them always took priority, so I didn’t truly start writing until my husband and I launched them out into the world. Then I sat down and wrote my first novel. I finished it, all 100,000 words, in a little over six-months and blithely sent it off to agents and editors, thoroughly expecting it to be snapped up immediately.

Yeah. Not so much. My novel was met with universal form letter rejections. I was so green, I didn’t even have a clue what I’d done wrong. At that point, I buckled down, found some writing mentors and began to learn my craft. Can anyone say “cart before the horse”? Definitely. But you don’t know what you don’t know, and at least I started and finished a novel and had the confidence to send it out. I also used the rejections as a goad instead of letting them defeat me.

What genre(s) do you write?

I’ve written a little bit of everything, but my main genre is fantasy. Romantic fantasy, contemporary fantasy, urban fantasy, juvenile fantasy, if the genre has fantasy in the name, I’ve probably written it. I even write fantasy under a pen name. Deb Logan, my alter ego, writes contemporary fantasy for middle grade and teen readers.

Interestingly enough, Debbie Mumford writes her tales in third person, but Deb Logan always writes in first person. Yep. I can honestly say Deb is channeling my inner child!

Tell us more about your book in the bundle

Dragons’ Choice, the first book in my ‘Sorcha’s Children’ series, tells the stories of Aislinn and Taran, dragon shifter siblings who set out into the world to discover their destinies. Aislinn and Taran are two of a clutch of six shifters who have grown to adulthood in the ice aerie of the dragons. This book chronicles their adventures as they explore the human side of their heritage.

Sorcha’s Heart is a novella that tells the tale of how dragon shifters came into existence. The novella is actually the prequel to the series.

Tell us about your latest book (add link if published)

Remember how I said I write a little bit of everything? Well, my most recent release, Tales of Bygone Days, is a collection of historical fiction tales, three short stories and a novella. Two of the short stories are based on historical events, the third is a mystery, and the novella is a time-travel romance. See? Even in this limited collection, my writing is all over the map *lol*

Any other projects in the pipeline?

Interesting you should ask! I’m currently working on the final novel in the ‘Sorcha’s Children’ series. Dragons’ Destiny will tell the stories of the final pair of shifter siblings, Luag and Eibhlinn, and if I do say so myself, it’s shaping up to be the best tale yet.

Oh! In case you want it, my newsletter is here: http://eepurl.com/bTXLhX

_________________________

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Reblogged this on Scripturience.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

