Writer Wednesday


Star Minds Third Generation Snippets is out! Check the damn Amazon link so the people at Booklinker won’t bother me with useless emails! But it’s available also everywhere else *waves at the gal who already bought it on Smashwords – I know who you are, thank you*! Next weekend I shall work on the paperback version.

The cover is by Mighty Marvelous Maurizio Manzieri – which means I have the same cover as some traditional SFF magazines or books, yay! ๐Ÿ™‚ It might be one of his stock illustrations (it ain’t free, babe), but again I wrote a story that fit it, like I did with S.E.T.H. (on the cover of Star Minds Next Generation Diaries).

Like I do with Techie Bro’s digital paintings. Who needs writing prompts with such great artists out there? ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m still commissioning custom covers, though. Next month you’ll see the awesome covers Rossana Beretta did for Talwar and Khanda and Saif’sย  Story. And besides doing maybe a cover or two myself, I’ll have Cristina do another southern kingdoms illustration. Not to mention the official cover artist for Vampires Through the Centuries, Shafali Anand! ๐Ÿ™‚

Tomorrow starts a Kobo-only promo – the Books of the Immortals Box Set will be 30%off for a few days. Just hop to the Kobo page and see what other box sets get discounted until the 29th! ๐Ÿ™‚

Lots of writerly links today! David Farland on busting your editor’s chops. Kris Rusch on types of brands – I might not be the best at cover branding yet, but well… too many books, too little time! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m still learning cover branding, but that’s only the surface. There’s a whole lot more about branding to study and learn.

And then two posts by David Gaughran about those darn Amazon bots… how we’ll end up asking “please don’t buy my books” and who’s pointing at you. I’ve been on Yasiv when I tried to set up that Amazon ad… some of my titles don’t even come up on Yasiv! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

I mean, even putting a series title like Star Minds not one book of the series shows up. Vampires Through the Centuries brings up only Vampire Diaries. Silvery Earth brings only the Fairy Tales Revisited… And “body switches”? Tons of non-fiction and conspiracy theories and mind-controlling texts!! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

I’ll have to find other ways to find tags for my next Amazon ads. Yasiv clearly doesn’t work for me! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Also, did you hear about the KU advocate being kicked out of KU? Mighty Zon is a dangerous beast! ๐Ÿ™‚

Off to the next story… have a great week! ๐Ÿ˜€

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Smashwords beat you to telling me the new book was out. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I bet you’d have loads of ideas, even without artwork to act as writing prompts.

    Like

    Reply
    • Actually there were 2 of you on Smashwords this time! ๐Ÿ˜‰
      And prompts help me writing out of my comfort zone or give me ideas for characters without using my usual virtual cast… But don’t tell Da Muses! ๐Ÿ˜

      Like

      Reply
  2. That’s great post, Barb. I haven’t heard about KU advocate. Is this good or bad? Nor have I heard of Yasiv. Not familiar with it.

    Like

    Reply
    • That author was a great KU advocate, suggesting everybody went KU… until he was kicked out of KU. His post is actually hilarious! ๐Ÿ˜‰ The point being – don’t put all your eggs in one basket, be it KU (Amazon exclusive) or i-bookstore or any other retailer. Spread as much as you can! ๐Ÿ™‚
      And I found Yasiv very frustrating… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ My books are just blips on Amazon, no reason to go exclusive with them, LOL! ๐Ÿ™‚ As for Amazon ads… I’ll do more experiments next month – or after the summer, we’ll see…

      Like

      Reply
  3. I won’t tell them you find inspiration elsewhere sometimes. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Awesome about there being two of us this time! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. I typed Body Switches by Barbara G Tarn in Yasiv. The links on the map look good. ๐Ÿ™‚ Haven’t tried your other stories yet.
    I decided to input each of my stories and see what other links there are to help with my branding, because I have no idea who my readers are. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply
    • I have no idea who my readers are either… Cover branding is not the only thing, l’ll have to read the second post on branding ASAP! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
      So much work, so little time…

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

