Sunday Surprise


And it’s another bundle author! And I’ve even met her in person, although that was 8 years ago – almost. Where did time fly? Sheesh! Anyhow, from Canada, ladies and gentlemen, please welcome Marcelle Dubé!

Where do you live and write from?
I live in the Yukon, in northern Canada. That’s where I do most of my writing, though I’ve been known to write in Montreal, Vancouver, Oregon, Europe, and various airports along the way.

Why do you write?
Because I can’t NOT write. Believe me, I’ve tried.

When did you start writing?
I was about 16 when I first started. After a few years, I stopped. Almost 15 years later I starting up again and haven’t stopped since.

What genre(s) do you write?
I write fantasy and science fiction, mystery, contemporary fiction… just about anything. One day soon I’m going to try a western!

What is the best piece of writing advice you’ve ever been given?
Let your two-year-old self out when you write. As in, don’t let your inhibitions or society’s constraints stop you from writing what’s in you to write.

What is your goal as a writer and what are you doing to achieve it?
My goal is to keep growing. I challenge myself by trying something new with each new project… either a new technique or a subject matter that scares me – for instance, in my last novel, Shelter, I wrote about something that scared me enough to keep me awake nights.

Outliner or improviser? Fast or slow writer?
I am definitely a “pantser,” as in I write by the seat of my pants. I’ve tried outlining, but once I’ve done the outlining, I feel like I’ve already written the story, so what’s the point of carrying on? Being a pantser has the advantage of never being bored as you write, but it also feels as if you’re always sailing off the edge of the world, in total darkness. And it means — for me, at least — that I write slowly, because sometimes I have to wait and let my conscious mind catch up with what my subconscious is doing. And sometimes I paint myself into a corner and then have to figure out how to get out of it. Very frustrating.

Tell us more about your book in the bundle
In Jilimar, Leah’s husband Owen can’t remember the first fifteen years of his life but Leah doesn’t care. They love each other and are building a life together. But a little part of her always worries that one day, Owen’s past will catch up to him.
When it finally does, Leah knows that, somehow, their neighbor Hector is involved in Owen’s disappearance. Before she can confront him, however, she is attacked by monster dogs, rescued by a man using a bow and arrows, and knocked out.
Then she wakes up on a different world, one on the verge of madness and war.
Now she must learn to survive in this strange place where the touch of a wraith can cause murderous madness and staying out in storm season spells certain death. She grows fond of the kind strangers who take her in and teach her the rituals that help protect against the wraiths. The rituals keep her alive long enough to discover the secrets of this new world, and of the stranger she calls husband.
Then she learns that the madness threatening Jilimar will soon descend on Earth, and only she can stop it.

Tell us about your latest book (add link if published)
My latest novel is Shelter.
It’s a modern gothic story featuring Ash Gantry, a young woman on the run from her abusive husband. After six months, Ash finally finds a place to call home in Albans, Ontario. But her new home hides a dark secret, one even more dangerous than the man hunting for her.

Any other projects in the pipeline?
Well, yes. I’m working on finishing the fifth in my Mendenhall Mystery series, featuring Mendenhall Chief of Police Kate Williams. I’m also working on the second in my SF/F/alternate history/mystery (did I mention my stories don’t fit into neat category boxes?), the A’lle Chronicles. The first one is called Backli’s Ford. And, in between, I write short stories.

_________________________________________

Find Marcelle online

Webpage

Goodreads

Twitter

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

