Writer Wednesday


And the reading month is over, phew! By the way, for the first time since I got it in 2011, Kindle Keyboard a.k.a. KK died on me in the middle of a story. Battery dead. I guess I intensively used it! 🙂 Now it’s all charged up again for the trip, when I hope to finish the novel I started in January and then move on to other things.

So this week I’m adding the second POV to the novella rejected by TOR. Hope to finish before I leave so I can take it with me and check the typos while I’m traveling. Also that the story flows, since I’m currently not really cycling. I’m simply adding scenes from notes that I took when I sent it out, so I’ll need to re-read it all in as few sittings as possible.

In March I’ll also make sure to fill the Worldcon 75 Programme Volunteer Form – as soon as I’m certain I can have that week off in August, that is. And maybe I’ll do some other online workshop, while writing the next book.

A couple of writerly links! Take the test to see if you have author potential! I don’t because I’m a writer, not an author, LOL! I think Authors are those One-Book-Wonder who are everywhere. But saving your docs outside the cloud and outside the PC is a good idea… I lost a novel to a floppy disk in the 1990s, so… always have more than one copy! 😉

And beware of the new scam of sensitivity readers (along with the other ones)! Me? If I write about something I don’t know, I ask an expert to check it. I certainly don’t pay anyone to tell me if it’s politically correct or not. There’s also the thing that this “censorship” goes mostly for YA and children, and I don’t write in those areas…

Fiction readers* often have to tell hard truths.

And we often piss people off.

And sometimes we miss getting something perfectly right.

And we get bad reviews because someone doesn’t agree with us.

Who cares????

If we write what we are passionate about, what we care about, what makes each of us happy, what other people think should never, ever matter.

Ever.

Period.

Write your own story. Get it out to readers and write the next story.

Keep learning, keep having fun, and keep writing new stories.

You do that and trust me, none of these scams will even tempt you in the slightest.

*I think he means “writers”, but you get it, don’t you? Don’t waste money on scammers. Happy writing! 🙂

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Reblogged this on Steve Boseley and commented:
    Some writerly links for you…

    Like

    Reply
  2. I’m sure KK is glad to be getting so much attention lately. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Sensitivity writers?? I’ll stop there, but know I have a silent rant about it.

    Like

    Reply
    • Sensitivity readers to check the politically-correctness of your writing… Crazy, l know. Like sparkling unucorns and vampires! 😉

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

