Writer Wednesday


Happy New Year! Final wordcount for 2016 was almost 470K – still a little short from my goal of 500K, but never mind. Last year I wrote a little over 400K with the same goal – that I’m keeping on for this year – so I’m getting better!

If I reach it this year, I’ll pat myself on the back. That’s half pulp speed and if you don’t know what I’m talking about, please check this post by Dean Wesley Smith. And if you need help in setting your goals, here’s some help for your New Year perspectives.

Now I’ve made a sorta kinda priority list for this year, but I want to remain fluid. I know there are some stories that need to come out at certain dates (Vampires Through the Centuries…), but besides that, I feel free to write and publish when I feel like it.

And the first title of 2017 is out! The Path of Air (Quests Book 3) is now available as ebook. Oh, and I got neat banners showing up on DriveThruFiction… if you’re patient enough! 😉

dtfscreenshots2017Publishing news… bad start for authors who used All Romance Ebooks and Omnilit, but also for the sites’ readers. Here’s the first warning from Writer Beware and Kris Rusch’s take on it. I had procrastinated going to Omnilit (not another distributor, groan!) and apparently I was lucky. My heart goes to the many people involved in this mess.

Good news on the Smashwords front – from this year we get monthly payments if we meet the minimum treshold, much like Draft2Digital does, yay! Also, if you’re a romance writer (which I’m not), you might take advantage of their program with the Happy Ever After blog hosted by USA Today.

So, things don’t look too bad. I also sometimes think “What’s the point?” but I very quickly climb out of that deadly trap. My critical voice is very quiet since I don’t have an English teacher to blame for creative writing lessons, but still, sometimes the effort to be seen and read in the wide sea of publishing is overwhelming. Especially when I do sell some titles in the much smaller Italian market…

Anyhow, onward with the writing. Have a great week! 🙂

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Hey, you almost made it… Maybe this will be your year to hit that wordcount goal? 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

