Writer Wednesday


Soo, after some procrastination (which is normal at the beginning of a story), I’ve now started Quests 4 and I’m almost 10K in – and the quest hasn’t started yet, LOL! But I’m trying to apply some of the tricks learned in online workshops, so I’m getting there. Slower, but getting there! 🙂

I’m also trying different alternate POVs, doing 2 scenes from the protagonist’s POV and 1 from one of the 2 co-protagonists. It’s tricky but fun! I think they will soon be off on their quest – for a physical thing this time. Book 1 and 2 were inner quests, book 3 is the quest for someone and book 4 is the quest for lost things, namely city destroyed centuries earlier. A sort of treasure hunt but not out of greed.

I hope to get to the end of a first draft or at least halfway by the weekend, otherwise I’ll continue after I’ve done my homework for the Anthology Workshop. Next year I’ll have a couple more contemporary stories to write from the assignments of the POV online workshop, so stay tuned for those… I really should start a priority list for next year!

This weekend I’ll go through Quests 3 so that I’ll be ready to send it to the editor and rework the opening of the Tor novella after some good comments from my writers group that I follow only because I came up with what I think is a better opening, haha! My critical voice is thankfully still fast asleep, and it all comes from the creative side of my brain, I swear.

And November is over, if you did NaNoWriMo, good for you, I have reached 430K words since January, so this year I might reach 450K if not the hoped for 500K! Still one month to go, definitely another 20K if not more! In the bad months (March was the lowest with 17K followed by August with 21K) I did write that much! Best months were Arpil (52K) and May (65K), and even in October I was in the 30K range in spite of not writing for nearly 3 weeks…

But I might post all the total wordcounts at the beginning of January with the final results! As for next year… I don’t think I’ll keep track anymore – or maybe I will, since I bought a little journal just for that, but I won’t report it, unless I hit that 500K mark – since it sort of takes out the fun.

I have artistic freedom and I’m enjoying it! 🙂 Have a great week!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Glad you’re making such good progress with the Quests books. Sounds like book four is going to be a long one.

    I can’t be bothered with tracking word counts. I just write the stories, and worry about how many words they have when it comes time to decide how much to list them for. 😉

    Like

    Reply
    • Long book and me don’t realky go well together! 😉
      so far the longest is Water at 45k, whike Fire abd Air are 35k… I hope to get to 45k with Earth too! 🙂
      l like reading and writing short novels…

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

