Writer Wednesday


So, last week was so Publisher Week that I barely started on the new story. Meh. I’m halfway through now, and as soon as I’m done I hope to receive the next proofs from CreateSpace. I know, I said I’d mention the publishing stuff on the publisher page… but so far it’s nothing new, simply the POD version of books that came out during the summer.

If you want dead-trees books, you can now order Tales of the Northern Kingdoms Volume 1 and Volume 2 on Amazon. I’m sure sometime this week you’ll find them also at Barnes&Noble and other bookstores through Amazon’s distribution.

Since it does take some time from CreateSpace to Amazon and the other retailers, I think that the POD version of Kaylyn the Sister-in-Darkness will come out in October, so that when the e-book goes live, it already has the matchbook thing active and you’ll be able to get it for free with the paperback. I am currently awaiting the first proof.

Next weekend I’ll upload another collection and wrap up the Star Minds stories. So next week I’ll hopefully get back to the Quests and Silvery Earth and write until I leave for my vacation in October. I am trying new promotion stuff, but not sure it’s working yet. I am aware, though that book promotion is not a one-size-fits-all strategy! 😉

Now, if you’re just starting, here’s some myth busting for you. And the secret to making tons of money as an author (hint: there is no secret – I’m in that bracket that earns less than 1000$ per year, still, after five years). I wanted to bang my head on the desk when a friend of mine said he paid an agent to read his manuscript and have a professional evaluation – turns out the reader for the agency is a retired teacher who suggested he adds a love story in a thriller book.

I  still have to write back to him – he’s Italian, but I very much doubt Italian agents are different from the American ones (i.e. unregulated, with no professional background and that could probably make you rewrite a perfectly fine thriller novel to make it more of a romance. Yikes).

Now I better go back to writing. I miss losing myself in other universes instead of having to deal with day-to-day matters such as formatting, uploading, checking proofs and the worst of all – marketing! 😉 Have a great week!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. What is it with people insisting every book needs a love scene these days? Don’t get me wrong, I like a bit of romance now and then, but if you’re reading something like a thriller, chances are you’re doing it to not read about romances… Just a thought, and one these agents need to be reminded of, I think.

    I’ve been at it almost as long as you, and I still haven’t found a marketing strategy that makes me rich. I’d share it if I ever do, but that wouldn’t guarantee it would work for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • maybe today I’ll work the strength to answer him and tell him what I think of agents…
      It’s not a get rich quick scheme, I know things take time, but the publisher’s hat feels worse every day! 😉 Anyway, I’m sure both of us in another five yeas will be where we want to be! 😀

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

