Random Friday


So, London! It keeps changing under me. When I got to Greenwich, I got lost – and I used to know it fairly well, having attended the Eurocentre in Lee Green (now closed, I’m afraid) four times! 😦 Anyhow, had a look at the O2 (unfortunately I was 3 hours early for the movie, so I didn’t see it at all – will have to get the DVD) and enjoyed the rides and met with friends and bought meself stuff! 🙂

2016-08-18 19.13.57

Now, the books! They were all pocket books for 3.99£, how could I leave them there? One I’ll need for Ingolf the traveling vampire, one for Bran and his millenarian siblings and one for next book, Shashank, since he’s the only one who actually gets to see the great Moghuls beyong Akbar. Add another non-fiction that I’ll use for whenever I wrap up the story, starting in Mumbai 2005… I’ve got some reading to do! 🙂

And still speaking about vampires, here’s yours truly posing as the protagonist of Norman Blood at the tower of London. Of course you need to use your imagination and see a man with a helmet instead of the backpack and a sword instead of the hand in pocket. And the wall around the White Tower was built in the 13th century, so only William the Conqueror’s keep in the background…

2016-08-20 10.46.18

At the National History Museum they have this simulator that makes you live the 1995 Kobe earthquake… and then I came back and we had another big quake on the boot-shaped country! 😦 Here you have a sequence of the shaky-shakes – I felt only the 3.40am one. At noon of the 24th, 160 hits: 59 between 3.0 e 4.0,  5 between 4.0 e 5.0 and 1 more than 5.0, in Norcia (PG) 5.4 at 04:33. I was asleep again by then.

Villages such as Amatrice (home of the world-famous pasta sauce Amatriciana) is almost completely destroyed – and it was full of tourists… Norcia is the home of my fave salami… Already almost 40 dead at lunch time and it was as strong as the one in 2009 that destroyed L’Aquila at 3.30am.

There’s another report, with even higher dead toll. Definitely not a nice year – but then, I never liked leap years! Have a great weekend!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I’m glad you weren’t one of those injured in the earthquake.

    I was born on a leap year. Well, in the November of one, but it was still a leap year. I’m not entirely sure if that supports your theory of leap years not being good, or proves sometimes good things do happen on a leap year… I suppose it depends who you ask. 😉

    Like

    Reply
    • well, for those born in leap years… you age slower! 😀 Especially those born Feb.29! 😉
      This particular leap year has been quite tough on celebs and people, though… Planet Earth is trying to shake us off. Can we blame her? I don’t…

      Like

      Reply
  2. Ah-ha! That’s why I haven’t grown up yet… 😉

    Nope, I don’t blame her. I mean, it’s sad about all the people who have died this year, but if it’s Mother Earth’s way of saying she’s fed up of the way the majority of humans treat her, I don’t blame her in the least.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

