Writer Wednesday


The second book of Vampires Through the Centuries is now available for pre-order via Smashwords. And as promised, here’s the cover of Kaylyn the Sister-in-Darkness by awesome Shafali Anand.

kaylyn-ref-webAnd here’s the blurb:

Ten years after the return of the crusader, his people know he’s evil and try to get rid of him and his wife. Kaylyn escapes the fire of Baldwin’s manor with Bran’s help and leaves Lincolnshire for good.

A long journey through 12th century Europe allows her to meet other fledglings of her mysterious maker, Bran the Raven. Then it’s Muslim Spain and up to Damascus, where everything started for Baldwin.

A travel journal through the centuries across Europe, North Africa, Asia on the Silk Road, to the court of Kublai Khan and then India for the making of her brother-in-darkness, Rajveer… And it’s only half of Kaylyn’s story.

History and fantasy mix in this standalone book of Vampires Through the Centuries that will appeal to both historical fiction readers and vampire lovers all over the world.

Bonus story: The Return of the Crusader, or the making of Kaylyn.

The book will come out November 2, one year after Rajveer the Vampire. Pre-order price is 4.99$ – it will go up to 6.99$ withing the first week of release, so get it now!  I even set up a Smashwords Series page! 😉

Now, for the other news. Currently writing more tales of the Southern Kingdoms to fill volume 2 so that after the summer I can re-issue both books as one volume (Tales of the Southern Kingdoms and More Tales of the Southern Kingdoms) with new covers and POD versions.

Last week I had 4 days when I didn’t write – in between projects – but then I wrote Amrendra part 4 in 3 days, 6600 words. As soon as I get it proofread, I’ll update the document and will announce it, so that whoever bought it on Smashwords can download the new version (I think Amazon automatically sends the new version if there’s significant changes – like 6600 more words?).

I have “trouble” only to start the next story. I usually procrastinate between projects until I finally set my mind on the new story. Once I start, I usually don’t stop until I reach the end – the beauty of writing into the dark, I guess! 😉 Anyhow, I have reached midpoint of my yearly wordcount, so I don’t feel pressure if I don’t write for a few days. I know that in October, having three weeks off, my wordcount will drop again, so I better stash up before then! 😀

Now I’m going to keep walking on the Yellow Brick Road and stick the following on my wall for the time being…

So my advice to you is ignore what society tells you that you must do, ignore what friends tell you that you should do. Do what you want. So when you get to my age, you might be having as much fun as I am.

Ain’t easy, but it is worth it.

Dean Wesley Smith

Have a great week!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

