Writer Wednesday


And because Facebook keeps changing stuff around, I missed this message from Pretty Hot. If only Facebook and Goodreads and WordPress stopped updating/upgrading stuff that doesn’t need to be touched. Now, things might be easier to post with the right profile on Facebook, but a bit of warning would have been nice. Sigh.

About the Hastings story! Since I’m still so deep into Quests and that will take me back to the Southern Kingdoms and I haven’t heard from betas about Kaylyn yet, I think I’m going to stick to Silvery Earth for the month of June. July would be the vampires month anyway, and I’m sure it won’t take long to write a short story before the deadline. In case you want to write something with the theme: the Battle of Hastings in 1066, check the guidelines here.

About Quests, Book 2 has already 19K of story that was  already in Book 1 from another point of view or two, and it’s just the beginning. So I hope it will be as long as Book 1 (46K) which will make the POD version with both books around 90K. Hopefully. The beauty of writing without outlining means I have no idea how long the story will be.

Considering that I had only three characters in mind and no idea of what happened to them, I’d say I’m not doing badly. And adding a fourth character in search of a story allowed me to continue with Book 2. So, definitely not a short story, and hopefully the two books can be enjoyed separately.

Which, of course boosted up my wordcount this month. I have written around 65K, making up for the lack of writing in March. So no “time of great forgetting” in sight for me, and I obviously have no trouble restarting, but if you do, please check how to do it, courtesy of Dean Wesley Smith.

Much like David Farland, I can proudly say that I inspired myself into becoming a writer. I guess I was lucky I grew up in the age of the typewriter and had no distractions. No internet with everything and its opposite, no confusing rules, anything. My critical voice never really developed! 😉

I’ve had three rejections for The Painter already, will try a few more. Like I said, until the end of summer, then it will go either to newsletter subscribers or in the anthology with all the Amazon stories. In the meantime check this Author Quickie with yours truly at Chevoque’s blog!

Now I don’t know about you, but June sneaked up on me and I still have a lot of work to do, both writing and publishing… Have a great week!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

