Random Friday


For Author Voice I had to look up Stage 4 writers, which made me go to my physical bookshelves and plunge into the past – end of last century.

The first book I read in English in the late 1980s was Tanith Lee’s The Silver Metal Lover. I loved it – still do, still reread it from time to time. I bought another title by her and did not finish it. Same with Ursula Le Guin’s Earthsea trilogy – did not finish.

Then I read the Belgariad and the first two books of the Chronicles of the Cheysuli in Italian, and during my next trips to England, I bought the originals. Now, that was love at first sight! I bought many series from David Eddings (I still have to get the last, co-authored with his wife, but I even have his early contemporary titles) and a couple from Jennifer Robertson (if I couldn’t find all the books in the bookshops, I didn’t even start the series).

So I was very happy to go digging through those old paperbacks, looking for author voice. I know I bought all those titles even if the storylines were repetitive (especially David Eddings, after reading his Rivan Codex, I started seeing his pattern – that’s an excellent book on world-building, by the way), so it must be because of the author’s voice.

I hope to reread all of them, along with the Dragonlance books, sometimes, since they’re the reason why I write fantasy! And I still have four titles from SFF bundles I bought Nov.2014 – Mar 2015… not to mention this order from Amazon (I prefer non-fiction in paper, especially if it’s illustrated like the ones below)…

2016-04-13 17.37.47My TBR pile never goes down, and even if it’s just on Kindle, I do have a list that covers both sides of a sheet of paper still (I delete the read titles, so that’s still a lot of stuff to read – not to mention the piled paperbacks on my desk).

When I’m not researching for Kaylyn, I’m going through the bundle of shorter works… so far, so good, will tell more when I’m done. Go grab it before it’s gone!

I better go back to making up stuff, although historical research and reading old chronicles is sometimes fascinating… and I still have a long batch of non-fiction books on writing on the Kindle, but well… I want to read for entertainment for some time! Off I go! Happy reading! 🙂

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

