Writer Wednesday

Published 13/01/2016 by Barb

Hello beautiful people who keep showing up. This is a writer’s blog and this is a writing post! 😉

Yesterday I was checking through an old story to see if I had a description of a town I’m reusing in a story – my series is based on the world of Silvery Earth throughout its history, hence the need to reference to places I have already used in other stories – and noticed a “shocking” thing: I ended a chapter on a cliffhanger!

So it wasn’t all crap after all! I don’t do this anymore because it irritates me, but obviously I used to do it. Which tells me that maybe I could redraft some of those old stories after all. They need a lot of meat to meet the new standards, but they’re not totally hopeless! 🙂

So eventually I’ll get down to rewrite the stories of the Moren Empire, adapting it to Silvery Earth. Originally it was classical high fantasy with elves and dwarves, but turning it into a Silvery Earth “cycle” might be a good thing. When I’m done with the Tales of the Northern Kingdoms that spawned after the death of the last Moren Emperor, that is! 😉

Currently rewriting and expanding an old graphic novel that was also a fairy tale revisited (without the m/m aspect of the latest works) and adding more to Colors, the Snow White-slashed story I started in December. Having heard from the betas, I came up with a different ending, which is not at all unusual for me. That’s how Beautiful went from short story to short novel! 😀

And how Rajveer was rewritten as well… but that’s why I love my beta-readers. Their comments help to make my stories better. They force me to think about what I’ve poured out and make sense of it! A very special thanks (in totally random order) to B-Abby, Lissa, Linda, Camila, Tori, Joleene, Nikalee, Jeff, Shafali and whoever else happened to read a story of mine before publication and comment on it! 🙂

A random selection of links for other writers who happen to stop by:

Penguin Random House and Author Solutions (Davig Gaughran) i.e. writer beware, beware and beware some more.

Starting Late (Dean Wesley Smith) which goes well with this guest post by CD Reiss. Starting late or 20 (like her) or 40 (like me) years ago doesn’t change a thing – as long as you don’t quit. Quitting is the only thing that can stop you from achieving success.

Reactive Business model (Kris Rusch) and if you’d like to sign up for a writers’ workshop, check WMG Publishing online and offline workshops – I can vouch for both, worth every penny…

Have a great week! 🙂

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

