Random Friday


heroika revised 1Hi guys,

I’m Samantha and I come from another world – the original, old Silvery Earth, where people are immortal and never grow up. When I’m not switching bodies at will, I travel to other universes, especially books or movies. That’s how I met Rajveer the vampire, for example!

So, I’m taking over the interviews on this blog! And here I am, meeting people from other books/universes/whatever!

Hello handsome. Tell me a little about yourself.

I am Rufus Redblade. I was once Captain of the Royal Guard, but times have changed. Now I am a blade for hire. I’m a Griffin Rider. We used to be the elite, for it takes a certain sort to tame and ride a Griffin. Many try, few succeed, and fewer still survive it long.

Age? No idea. I don’t keep track of such things.

That’s fine, I don’t do either. Describe your appearance in ten words or less.

Male, tall, dark haired, many scars

Do you have an enemy or nemesis? If so, who are they and how did they become an enemy?

A man like myself has many enemies. I have fought in the civil wars, the border wars, defended the late Arch Duke, although not well enough, I have pissed off mercenaries, priests, husbands, fathers, brothers, and politicians. Fortunately for me and unfortunately for them the name Redblade is well earned. The Griffin Riders are feared. In many ways that’s far more useful than respect, and easier to earn.

Wow, you’ve been busy! Would you kill for those you love? And would you die for them?

Yes. I loved the old Arch Duke, he was an honourable man, far more so than some of his predecessors. I fought for him, beside him and upheld his peace. My friends, my allies I would kill for and they for me. In our profession we must watch each other’s backs.

Where do you live?

Ilmar. I have a dwelling in the countryside, beyond the main city but I’m often out working.

Are you involved in a relationship? If so, with who and what is it about them that you find appealing?

Yes. Few people know of it. I have a woman, Silena, she is strong, intelligent and I can truthfully say she is the only woman to tame an old warrior’s heart. She has been through so much, the loss of her husband (not by my hand), her sons and much more. Still she is strong, joyful when we are together and determined to protect her family and her legacy no matter what.

She is a woman doing, what in our society, is a man’s job and doing it better than most men could.

Heroika 1 Perfect promo 6&9I like her!What is the biggest challenge you face in the story?

Well killing dragons isn’t something I do every day….Big armoured flying monsters with teeth the size of my head and who can spit caustic breath? Yes THOSE dragons.

Yes, not the most safe job available. Do you have a family? Tell me about them.

Not really. Only Silena, and my Griffin Riders. Oh and Bloodsnap, my griffin. I have no official family, perhaps a few bastards here and there but my parents died long ago and my siblings I haven’t seen for years.

Please give me an interesting and unusual fact about yourself – besides killing dragons and mounting griffins, I mean.

I have the skull of a hydra as a keepsake. Now they are buggers to kill.

I bet they are! What 2 or 3 questions do you wish I’d asked and what are your answers to them?

What does dragon taste like? I was in a pretty bad state after the fight so my memory is a little hazy. It tastes like old venison, coated with pepper and soaked in cheap brandy. It’s magical though, REALLY magical. Taste doesn’t have much to do with it. A man who was dying, finds he isn’t. The senses are heightened. The world is born anew.

How does one kill a dragon? With a great deal of luck, some very good weapons and more courage than sense.

How is something the size of a dragon able to fly? Don’t ask me – I’m a mercenary. However that’s not an answer, so I’ll say they are OLD, magic is strange and misunderstood. There are a lot of thermals in the mountains – the griffins use them. It’s a dragon, it can do what it damn well pleases.

HEROIKA1 New banner heroika_TChirezpromo

Rufus Redblade appears in Of Blood and Scales featured in Heroika: Dragon Eaters

http://www.amazon.com/HEROIKA-DRAGON-S-E-Lindberg-ebook/dp/B00VFVCQRS/

http://www.amazon.co.uk/HEROIKA-DRAGON-S-E-Lindberg-ebook/dp/B00VFVCQRS/

Author’s interview for the release of the anthology.

Author Bio:

A. L. Butcher is the British author of the Light Beyond the Storm Chronicles fantasy series, and several short stories in the fantasy and fantasy romance genres.  She is an avid reader and creator of worlds, a poet and a dreamer. When she is grounded in the real world she likes science, natural history, history and monkeys. Her work has been described as ‘dark and gritty’ and her poetry as evocative.

Blog: http://libraryoferana.wordpress.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6430414.A_L_Butcher

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Alexandra-Butcher/e/B008BQFCC6/

Twitter:@libraryoferana

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DarkFantasyBeyondTheStorm

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Reblogged this on Library of Erana and commented:
    Here’s a great interview with Rufus Redblade, hero and dragonslayer.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Reblogged this on sacredbander and commented:
    One of our favorite characters from Heroika 1: Dragon Eaters has his say…

    Like

    Reply
  3. Loved Rufus’ interview. Hope to see more of him….

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  1. Random Friday « sacredbander

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

