Sunday Surprise


unnamedAnd it’s a guest! From the Ink Slingers Halloween Anthology but he was also in last year’s anthology! When I read “Travelers”, I thought I wanted to know more about the guy, but look, almost a year went by and… he did it again! His “Tigress Lizzy” gave me the right chills at the right times… so go grab your copy right now! Ladies and gentlemen, please welcome Rami Ungar!

Where do you live and write from?

I’m originally from Columbus, Ohio, though for the past two and a half months I’ve been living and working as an intern with the US Army in Wiesbaden, Germany. As to where I write, anyplace I can plug in my laptop and let my creative juices flow, whether that be at home, in a café, a library, or even in the office when there’s nothing going on (rare moments, I tell you).

Why do you write?

I think I started writing because I loved Harry Potter and I wanted to write something just as awesome, if not more. After a while it became something I really loved doing. It still is something I love to do, but with my brain now trained to come up with as many ideas as possible—and I have several a week, so you can imagine how they pile up after a while—it acts as a sort of exorcism, getting these tales out of my head and onto paper. I just wish I had more time do these exorcisms, but that’s life!

57a04-strange2bportalsWhen did you start writing?

Somewhere between age five and eight, I think. I remember seeing Harry Potter—or maybe I read it, I can’t remember which came first—but I was entranced by Harry and Hogwarts and magic. And it all came from a single book! There was the real magic, and I wanted to be able to do the same thing. The result was that I started writing. First it was my own versions of Harry Potter, then it was my own original works. Around age ten I decided that writing was what I wanted to do for the rest of my life, though every now and then I entertained being a mad scientist.

What genre(s) do you write?

I mostly write horror stories, though I do science fiction and thrillers as well. Stephen King’s really the one responsible for that: I read IT and wanted to write stories to rival his more than I wanted to write stories that rival JK Rowling’s. I’m definitely not there yet, but I like to think I’m on the way.

What does your writing routine consist of?

I don’t really have a writing routine. My life’s too crazy for one, so whenever I have the time, I plug in some tunes and try to get out as much as possible. Depending on a number of factors, it can be a little or a lot. Just as long as I get something out, all’s well with me.

5a3e9db116168bd2d61f13037216dc667ed9a2b1What do you feel are your strengths as a writer? How have you developed these qualities?

I like to think I’ve got a good grasp of dialogue, thanks to lots of practice and plenty of critiques from readers and fellow writers. I also like to think I’m good at putting a scary or creepy spin on any subject or situation, which can lead to all sorts of ideas. Though that latter skill makes me wonder about my sanity sometimes…

Where do you find your inspiration? Do you put yourself in your stories?

I think authors get inspiration from everywhere, and I’m no exception. From stories I read, from conversations I have or sights I see (I get a lot of that last one here in Germany). Occasionally I do put myself in my stories, or at least shades of myself, characters with bits of me in them. I guess part of me wants a more exciting life than I already have, or I just like having a giggle because I’m the only one who knows that that character is based on me. Who knows?

Outliner or improviser? Fast or slow writer?

Definitely an outliner, I like to have a plan or a direction to go in, though occasionally I write by the seat of my pants just to see where I end up. As for fast or slow, it depends on what you consider fast or slow. A short story can take a month, while a novel can take six to eight months, depending on circumstances. And those are the just the first drafts!

e5401a30f49ac8500a1bedd1f41315a54f9b7007Tell us about your latest book

Snake was published last year in June. It’s a thriller with horror overtones, about a serial killer hunting members of a powerful mafia family in order to save the woman he loves. It’s pretty dark and violent stuff, but I had an absolute ball writing it. There was a lot of influence from slasher films and the suspense novels I was deep into when I wrote it. If anyone loves that sort of stuff, they might like Snake.

Amazon and Smashwords.

Indie publishing or traditional publishing – and why?

I’m an indie writer. I tried the traditional route, but I found not a lot of publishers and agencies were taking on new clients. Impatient, eager to see myself in print, and hearing about friends of mine finding success in self-publishing, I decided to try it out. The results that I ended up liking having full control and creative freedom. It’s lead to so many opportunities for me, and I’m glad I did it.

478f1e69890369ad9d44b500fcae9b85f2d765a5Any other projects in the pipeline?

Oh have I! I’m at varying stages of the editing process for three different novels, and I’m putting together a new collection of short stories. I’m also producing an audio book for one of my novels, provided I can find a narrator for it. No idea when I’ll get them all out, but I hope to have that answer soon.

What is your goal as a writer and what are you doing to achieve it?

Boy, that’s changed over the years! At first I wanted to be a millionaire novelist by age twenty, then I wanted to be a bestseller with an adaptation or two by the time I was thirty. These days I just would like to get to the point where I can write full-time and pay all my bills with that. Maybe in a few books I’ll be able to achieve that. Just got to keep writing, publishing, and marketing. With enough book sales and reviews, who knows what could happen in the future?

20150827_175542What is the best piece of writing advice you’ve ever been given?

Always try something new. You never know when a story may come from or where you might find something you’ll love. My dad taught me that when I was a kid, and I’ve never regretted listening to him…most of the time, anyway.

______________

Rami Ungar’s blog

Where else can you find Rami?
Facebook
Twitter
Self-Published Authors Helping Other Authors
WattPad

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I’m so glad you liked my stories, Barb. And thanks for posting this, it’s awesome. I’m going to reblog it right now!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Reblogged this on Rami Ungar The Writer and commented:
    You remember my recent interview with author Barbara G. Tarn? Well, she also interviewed me and it was just awesome. If you’d like to check out the full interview, check out her blog, it’s got some great stuff on it!

    And as always, check out When The Lights Go Out, where you can find creepy stories from the both of us within. Now available on Amazon, Smashwords, B&N, Kobo, and iTunes. It’s the perfect reading for getting into the Halloween season.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Great interview!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

