Random Friday


Movie Friday! Lots of foreign directors either just starting or working with Hollywood! 😀 Did I mention how much I love subtitled world movies? 😉

Starting off with a movie that came to my attention through the Google Alert on Muse K – apparently this is her first movie and now she’s working in Hollywood. After a black and white movie in farsi. What intrigued me was the idea of a vampire with a skateboard and a chador.

A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night is Ana Lily Amirpour’s debut and it’s impressing. Hadn’t seen b&w movies since 1984 – F.F.Coppola’s Rumble Fish! 😉 And there’s a vampire with retractile fangs like my Indian vampires. And there’s a love story. And there’s a great soundtrack – I loved all the music and songs. And I can tell she’s a fan of Ann Rice – the scene where the vampire mirrors Arash’s father’s movements was a dejà vu of Louis meeting Santiago in Paris! 😉

I watched the extras – deleted scenes and interviews – as well. I probably would have kept most of the deleted scenes (she cut out most of the story of one character that now makes very little sense as is) and I can tell the young lady likes to throw the f-bomb when she speaks! 😉 I do say the Italian equivalent when I’m angry, but not in normal conversation…

After so much of b&w, a deluge of colors in Mirror, Mirror. Lots of very kitch costumes and weird settings (and a fake forest) for this retelling of Snow White. Some things were really funny, others… not so much. I guess I’ll have to do my own retelling of that fairy tale at some point. The final dance number? Very… Slumdog Millionnaire (except in this case it’s an Indian director in a western movie, not a British director in a supposedly Indian movie)! 🙂

And a good old flashback to the 1990s! I’ve followed Mira Nair from Salaam Bombay to Khamasutra, a tale of love – I think I saw the latter in cinemas, dubbed, but I’m not sure. I had the dubbed VHS of Mississipi Masala, so it was the first time I saw it in its original form (with Spanish subtitles – the DVD was a Spanish edition) and I absolutely loved it as much as the first time I saw it. Sarita and Denzel are marvelous and the story made me cry again.

Last but not least, Bollymovie of the week – an old one (well, 11 years old): Lakshya. What can I say… Zoya is better! 😉 It’s just me not liking war movies, I guess – no matter the country. So I’ll leave you with the “before the army” song. Have a great weekend! 😉

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Heh-heh, I curse like a sailor :p

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

