Sunday Surprise


Apparently the author of the month has forgotten she’s on, so no author interview… unless you’d like to be featured on this blog – you or your characters, I have also a batch of questions for fictional characters if you prefer – I guess I won’t have any guests this month.

2015-09-12 09.44.52Which is kinda fine, since it’s not really a writing month for me! 🙂 So here’s what I’m doing this weekend:

Drawing S.K.Y.B.A.N.D (pencils done, the  inking is the hard part – and then the colors… and the lettering… sigh!).

Working on PODs (two done, two more to go…).

Formatting and uploading new titles (or final drafts for pre-order).

Friday morning I was at the office inking the latest strip (I don’t know when I’ll publish those and if I ever will, so don’t ask – they’re becoming too personal to be published! 😉 Maybe I’ll choose the most interesting eventually – when I’m done coloring them) and a woman came in saying “Oh, I wish I could draw like that!”

I mean, the strip. Chibi-style. I told her “I flunked illustration school because I didn’t come from an art school, but I kept drawing because I like it.”

It’s called… practice. You know, that thing musicians or other creative people do – except writers and, apparently, artists. Lots of wannabes there. “I want to write a book” but they never find the time. “I wish I could draw” but they never put pencil to paper.

I have no artistic talent. My portraits are traced from pictures. My comics are free hand and you can absolutely tell I know nothing of human anathomy – and I never draw animals (unless I can trace, so no mythical beasts, since I don’t want to steal another artist’s work) because I don’t have the will to practise.

I like drawing people, so I keep drawing people, trying different styles and never stopping. I’ll never be a professional comic artist, but I don’t care. I do it as a hobbyist because it helps me take a break from writing. But I did learn some tricks through the years.

Maybe you can’t tell, but I know when I resume drawing after a few years without doing it. I need to go back to the basis. I downloaded chibi and non-chibi human forms in different poses as reference for my comics and the strip and the vignettes…

And then I draw. And I write, but keep learning. Of course some of my older stories make me cringe, but they were the best I could produce at the time, and it’s fine. I won’t burn them just because they were crap… Nor will I throw away my old comics, although I won’t scan them and publish them either…

2015-09-12 09.45.27And with these philosophical Sunday thoughts, I shall go back to publishing and drawing… Createspace has approved the books, so I ordered the final proofs that should arrive shortly! 🙂 (BTW that cover art on those two is by Mighty Marvelous Maurizio Manzieri, not me!) Have a great Sunday! 😀

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Nikalee

     /  14/09/2015

    Well I have to disagree with your comment that you have no artistic talent, Barb! Tracing or not, you ARE a talented artist. You capture the whole range of emotions with your comic strips, other drawings, and graphic novels. If you weren’t talented, you couldn’t do that. I love your drawings. You have a definite unique style!

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you, Nik! 🙂 It’s because I keep practising, even though I’m not that gifted in that department (if I could draw the things I see in my head as I see them, I”d be an illustrator, not a writer)…
      And I like your style too, hope some day you get back to drawing and writing yourself! 😀
      Hugs

      Like

      Reply
  2. Those covers are beautiful! whenever I see art like that I am (temporarily) inspired to get off my figurative butt and get back into serious art – and then I remember how loooooong it takes and I cringe back and say “Maybe later when I have more time” ha ha!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

