Random Friday


I didn’t want to leave out our Author of the Month. She’s also a contributor to Strange Portals! She finally found the time to answer my writerly questions, so I’m very happy to introduce you all to C.G. Coppola!

57a04-strange2bportalsWhere do you live and write from?

Well I currently reside in Jacksonville, Fl but I write from my laptop which normally sticks to my desk but may move to the recliner or the table. Or pretty much around the house. But it does stay in the house. I’m not one for writing outdoors or in coffee shops around people. I’m a little paranoid they’d read it. And point out the grammatical errors.

Why do you write?

Because I have to (boring response, ay?) I just love writing. I love everything about it, the freedom it gives you and the power. I’ve been doing it since I was little and am entirely convinced it’s what I’m supposed to do with my life.

When did you start writing?

When my mother took away my Barbie dolls. I was forced to record their adventures instead of playing them out. Strange tESCAPE FROM HARRIZEL VS 2 - 2000ransition but a good one, I think.

What genre(s) do you write?

I like Science Fiction and Fantasy because it opens the flood gates to where everything and anything can happen.  And that’s what I like in my stories. Everything and anything.

Where do you find your inspiration?

Music. The stories are in the music.

Outliner or improviser? Fast or slow writer?

I’m a mental-plotting-panster. Is that a thing? What I mean is I see the story in my head: I know the big events and main arc, but the details… why should I get in the way of the characters explaining all that? PLUS I might’ve gotten an event wrong in which the characters will right everything again. So I guess it’s a little of both.

Tell us about your latest book

DISCOVERY AT NERWOLIX- VS2 - 2000So the last book I released was the third in my series, Arizal Wars. The book is Discovery at Nerwolix, and follows the next chapter in an epic Sci-fi Romance plot that involves aliens, new worlds, lots and lots of battles, friendship and even some sex! I released it in September last year and have done little (probably no) advertising, which is why you haven’t heard of it.

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/470681 – Smashwords

http://www.amazon.com/Discovery-Nerwolix-Arizal-Wars-Book-ebook/dp/B00N2BUFNQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1409159039&sr=8-1&keywords=discovery+at+nerwolix – Amazon

Indie publishing or traditional publishing – and why?

I’m going Indie right now but realizing I don’t have the attention span or motivation to market. Which is sad. I usually say I’m going to do this or get that done and I just sit down and write some more. Which is all fine except no one reads it. And my characters only exist on the page. I may try traditional publishing—who knows!

Any other projects in the pipeline?

Oh yes! I’m working on a fantasy piece told from two perspectives: a runaway princess and a rogue assassin. Together, and with the help of a young street kid, the trio escapes their toxic realm in search of safety in the White Wastelands that lay beyond. I’ve got some romance and of course, lots of action again! I can’t stop writing action.

What is your goal as a writer and what are you doing to achieve it?

I just want to write. Seriously. If I had a fan base and a book tour and a lot of positive feedback—all of that would be great. A perk, you could say. But I want to pump out stories all day as a day job and hopefully make enough to live. Even meekly, if possible. I should probably be doing a whole lot more to achieve it. Like, I don’t know, maybe advertising? Getting more into the community? Right now I’m just focused on writing. I am going to the Writer’s Digest Conference in NY next month. Maybe I’ll get some pointers and learn some stuff to help!

PLAGUE OF MYBENCIA - VS 2 - 2000What is the best piece of writing advice you’ve ever been given?

I don’t think I held onto any one specific advice during my studies (B.A. in Creating Writing. Woop!) but the thing that all my teachers and established writers have agreed to: never give up. Keep working. Keep reading. And keep writing.

Where to find C.G. Coppola

authorcgcoppola.com

cgcoppolawrites@gmail.com or cgcoppola@gmail.com

twitter: writercgcoppola

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Awesome interview and two of my favorite authors right in one blog! CG’s book series is awesome, and for anyone who hasn’t given it a try I can only say: Do it!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

