Writer Wednesday


Mmm… is Amazon getting desperate with all those of us who refuse to use that button that is now so prominent in the new dashboard?

KDPdashboardSorry, Amazon, not going exclusive, thank you… the other retailers’ sales might be abysmal today, but I’m not giving up on them! 😉 BTW, only the first page is changed, the rest is more or less the same…

So, the new title is OUT everywhere I upload to – Amazon, Apple, Barnes&Noble, DriveThruFiction, Kobo and Smashwords in strict alphabetical order! King of Music – Zaphadin is a Star Minds novella, although the main characters of the series are barely visible… but if you’ve read SMNG Kay-low, you know who this is! 🙂

ZaphadinDTFKing of Music – Zaphadin (the true story of the man behind the myth)

He loved to entertain his friends with songs and dance moves. And one day at a wedding banquet he met the manager who made him a galactic phenomenon – he can dance, he can sing, he can entertain you like nobody else, he’s the king of the music business! During his fifteen years career, the star of Zaphadin kept rising in popularity while at the same time the man’s morale plummeted into desperation. That’s why at the height of his fame, he walked away from it all.

Draft Zero of the Desi vampire is done, I’m waiting for a couple of books to make a more realistic setting. I’m almost done with the Strength Workshop, and it seems I don’t have that many strenghts, LOL!

But the weaknesses were confirmed, so I’m trying to put more setting in my stories. Beta-readers will still have to be patient with me, since I still write the bones first and add in setting and descriptions on the second pass. But since those passages bore me as a reader, I tend to skip them as a writer. So the very first draft will be rougher than expected anyway.

Anyhow, if you still need someone to help you concentrate or remind you to dream big, there you go. And if you want to be prolific – there’s David Farland and Dean Wesley Smith. In spite of being bummed by the oucome, I highly recommend Dean’s online workshops. I might take a couple more later this year. Since it’s the year of working on craft more than publishing! 😉

And I’m a stage 3 writer – somewhere in that lobby, seeing those stairs and wondering what’s upstairs. I don’t have any of the mentioned problems and I am learning, so… I’ll get upstairs eventually. And if you want to know what’s the best way to support your favorite authors (including yours truly, if you’re just a reader), head over @ Hugh Howey’s blog. Words of wisdom once again.

To finish this post, the Top 5 Dumbest Business Practises in Publishing! 🙂 I haven’t forgotten the importance of POD books, but I’m waiting until I have two to format and order, so the next printed titles will come out some time in June… After I spend a few days at an Italian fair (book fair? Comicon? Dunno yet. First time con and maybe they don’t know either! 😉 ) and will let you know how it goes…

Have a great week!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Yeah, the new KDP dashboard is annoying, isn’t it? A huge button to sign up for Select and everything else is crammed into the tiny button next to it.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

