Random Friday


I finished reading Dracula at last. It was longer than I thought – or maybe it took me longer than expected because of the sometimes unreadable (for me) English (when Mr. Stoker tried to render the lower classes speech, I couldn’t really follow it and Van Helsing’s broken English was sometimes irritating)… It’s… interesting! Dated, but interesting.

I’ve read somewhere that Bram Stoker knew nothing of Vlad the Impaler, and in fact he doesn’t really mention the origin of Dracula. And Mina is faithful to her husband – unlike the movie version, which seemed to be a summary of the summary of the book.

I’m kinda baffled at how things were changed in the movie. I guess the screenwriter took advantage of the fact that the writer couldn’t sue him, since he was already dead (much like the guy who wrote Troy based on Homer’s work – I wonder if dead authors who get rewritten in Hollywood haunt those darn screenwriters! 😀 At least Shakespeare wrote plays that are easier to turn into movies… sort of…)! 😉

Speaking of more vampires, let’s move to sort of Art Friday. Here’s a preview of half the strip about the Desi vampire… As you can see he doesn’t even have a name here (and even the one I’d found will need to be changed, so… Whatsisname is just fine for now! 😉 Bad author, I know).

desiYes, I’m aware it’s a very silly joke – much like this one… Hopefully this weekend I’ll have time to go back to more serious drawing! 😉 Unless I get to writing the above, that is. I’m thinking since I’m reading about vampires, I might as well get done with the vampire stories (I still need to finish Interview with the Vampire that I interrupted at the beginning of part 3 when I headed for London).

Speaking of artists, I’ve discovered this amazing digital painter who also has her own project – musical, not painted. May her music help heal other people from depression…

Also, if you’d like to support my cover artist and webmaster Silvano Beltramo on Patreon, here is his page. I know that eventually I’ll sign up myself, but I haven’t decided yet how to sign up (as author/which pen name or as publisher?)…

Have a great weekend!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! I thought it was funny :p When someone mentions “Indian” I often have to say “India Indian or Native American Indian?” 😉 I know Indian for native Americans is not considered PC nowadays, but it’s ingrained anyway. It isn’t as though it’s an insult…

    Dracula. Ah yes. It’s best to read some of it out loud and then you can “hear” what they are supposed to be saying. As for the merits of it as a master piece… Hmmmm. Sherlock Holmes vs Dracula is written a bit better, i think, as far as the styles go, and covers the same story (except from Sherlock’s PoV and amazingly it completely works when out against the real story ha ha!)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

