Random Friday


While finishing Astrid’s story – and being not very efficient in spring, since it’s cold in the morning and hot at lunch time and I don’t sleep well and blah blah blah – I’m currently re-reading Ann Rice’s Interview with the vampire, which I read 20 years ago (just before the movie came out and maybe once more after, to compare)… I’ve rewatched the movie quite often (I had the dubbed version on VHS and bought the DVD as soon as I could), so I remember it quite well (it is the movie that made me fall in love with Brad after all! 😉 Pity for Mr Scientology, I’d have happily lived without him even 20 years ago).

The book was sort of forgotten in the meantime. So I thought I’d re-read it to start thinking vampires for my own upcoming story. So after Amaranthine book 7, I’m back to the roots (I haven’t read any other vampire literature between Ann Rice’s first 3 books and Joleene Naylor’s Amaranthine series) and will read also Bram Stoker’s Dracula (seen the F.F.Coppola movie, but not read the book yet). And probably rewatch the vampire movies I have – all 3 of them (I have Lost Boys to stand in for the movie version of Amaranthine, LOL!).

And then I’ll have to talk to my cover artist about the title, since mine will be a humorous tale, not a gothic horror story. I wouldn’t want it to be confused with an unusual, erotic, sci-fi, romantic vampire adult fiction story! I know there’s no copyright on titles, but I’d still prefer to avoid any confusion, so I’ll probably have to stick to the long version of the title, which means the characters will have to pop up on the graphics of the title itself or something. I’m sure between me and Shafali we can come up with something, LOL!

Next week I’ll be in London, probably writing the other B.G. Hope story (I know I need to do some research on the vampire story, so writing in a contemporary setting is probably easier while traveling) and then I’ll start an online workshop… craft, for the first time in years. I guess I’m not really business-minded this year. But as long as I have fun writing… there’s no hurry to publish! I have 99 books in the “my books” folder on my Kindle… and I know the 100th will be Kay-low’s story sometime next month!

Stay tuned and have a Happy Easter!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

