Writer Wednesday


The first proof had a cover a shade too red (and it doesn’t even come out when I take pictures, so you’ll have to take my word for it), so I ordered a new one. It should arrive today, but since even if I approve it, it won’t be on Amazon yet, I’ll give the links to the POD version next week.

A very special thanks to the reader who already bought a copy of Star Minds Next Generation on Amazon UK. If I were a spammer author, I’d contact that reviewer on Goodreads who said she’d like to read the story of the children of the Trilogy! 😉 But that’s not me, so I’ll just wait until readers find me.

So, first Wednesday of the month, I’m giving my wordcount for the month of January! Grand total was around 59000words, so a novel – except it wasn’t a novel, but three novellas and a few short stories, all set in the Star Minds universe. Most you’ll read them next month in Star Minds Next Generation Diaries, others much later in the year with Star Minds Interregnum.

Turns out that the shorts in the Diaries aren’t really standalone, so I’ll just put them all together in a collection like I did with Star Minds Snippets. I might do a single with Kay-low’s novella, but that’s it. The Interregnum shorts and novellas, though, I plan on submitting them to traditional markets, that’s why you’ll have to wait to read them! 🙂

February I’ll keep writing in this genre + I’m jotting down some strips (which actually add to the wordcount at the end of the day, so I’m counting them too). I know I should finish SKYBAND, but those last 22 pages seem too hard to do while I experiment with a new drawing stile. Maybe when I get the strip out of the way, I’ll be able to finish the graphic novel! 😀

I still don’t know how the new VAT laws affect my earnings (and won’t until March when they pay the January royalties on Amazon) also because so far I’ve published only a 99cent story – but it has brought in sales for the anthology it’s included in. Anyhow, I still don’t have ISBNs on most ebooks (except on Kobo where they assign their own), but of course Italy is behind four or five years compared to the US, so they still think that you need an ISBN to make it a book. Maybe I should translate Hugh Howey’s post on Author Earnings Report, where he wonders if we still need ISBNs. I’m sure they’ll go the way of the dodo, but not yet, not on this side of the world. Sigh.

In case you missed it, scroll down to read the interview of yours truly on Tricia Drammeh’s blog, that I reblogged soon after her own interview went live on my blog. It was a nice and timely swap, if there’s anyone else out there who would like to do this, just drop me a line! 🙂

That’s all for today… have a great week!

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

