Sunday Surprise

Published 01/02/2015 by Barb

And it’s a guest!  Again from Strange Portals, another fellow author! Ladies and gentlemen, please welcome Tricia Drammeh!

Darksummonsb1Where do you live and write from?

I live in New Hampshire with my husband, four kids, and two cats. I wish I could say I write from trendy coffee shops or from an office overlooking a beachside paradise, but the truth is I write from my living room amidst the noise and chaos.

Why do you write?

I can’t imagine not writing. Creating entire worlds and people to inhabit them is an incredible thing.

When did you start writing?

I wrote poetry in high school, but didn’t try to write a novel until I was in my late thirties. I guess I’m a late bloomer.

firebound kindle coverWhat genre(s) do you write?

I write a little bit of everything. My Spellbringers series is young adult fantasy. Better than Perfect is romance. The Séance is young adult paranormal/horror. And then The Fifth Circle is contemporary fiction.

What does your writing routine consist of?

Unfortunately, I don’t have much of a routine right now. My daytime work hours have changed, and then changed again. I’m trying to settle into a routine that doesn’t involve staying up too late and missing out on sleep.

kindle coverWhat do you feel are your strengths as a writer? How have you developed these qualities?

Creating realistic dialogue is probably my greatest strength. I think this quality has developed over years of listening in on conversations, even those between strangers.

Where do you find your inspiration? Do you put yourself in your stories?

I find inspiration everywhere. Sometimes it’s a strange dream. Other times it’s scenery, or nature, or an overheard conversation. I don’t intentionally put myself in my stories, but I’ve featured a character who suffers from extreme shyness. I think that particular element of the character’s personality is definitely based on me.

Outliner or improviser? Fast or slow writer?

I’m an improviser. For me, outlining the book ahead of time takes away the joy of writing. My first three books were written very quickly. Now it takes me much longer to write a novel – sometimes a year or longer.

unbound kindle coverTell us about your latest book (add link if published)

My latest release is Unbound: Book Three in the Spellbringers series. It’s a fantasy series for young adults that features a multicultural cast of characters. There’s magic, action, and romance. Right now, it’s only available on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Unbound-Spellbringers-Book-Tricia-Drammeh-ebook/dp/B00NRWJMHU/

Indie publishing or traditional publishing – and why?

With my first book, I queried widely and finally signed with a small publisher. Now, all my books are self-published. I love self-publishing. I’m able to have complete control over the process and I can set my own deadlines. It’s very empowering.

SMALLER COVER SPELLBOUNDAny other projects in the pipeline?

I’m currently working on The Coven, which is the sequel to The Séance. It’s a paranormal/horror novel for the young adult audience.

What is your goal as a writer and what are you doing to achieve it?

My goal is to write entertaining books readers enjoy. Eventually, I’d like to sell enough books to quit my day job, but until then, I’m focusing on writing the best books I can.

What is the best piece of writing advice you’ve ever been given?

Read. Writers should make the time to read every single day. Books in their genre. Classics. Self-published and traditionally published. Just read.

Thanks for having me on your blog, Barbara. I truly appreciate it.

Links:

Website & Blog: http://www.triciadrammeh.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Tricia-Drammeh-Author/453408644723825

Twitter: @triciadrammeh

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Tricia-Drammeh/e/B008UI2CE6/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6453547.Tricia_Drammeh

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/triciapixel

14 comments on “Sunday Surprise

  • Great to learn more about my friend Tricia. She is able to balance family, a job aside from writing and also author books of many genres. Talk about motivating! On top of all of that, she is kind and thoughtful. A spectacular woman. It is wonderful to see her interviewed in such a quality way at this blog here. Thank you.

    Like

  • Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

