Writer Wednesday


Star Minds Next Generation is coming… probably some time next week! 😉 In the meantime I’m writing more stories in the Star Minds universe – in a couple of months there will be Star Minds Next Generation Diaries, the companion to the novel (but in this case, the companion will be longer than the novel. With Star Minds and Star Minds Snippets, the latter was shorter, but then, the first is a trilogy! 😉 – both will have a cover by Maurizio Manzieri).

And then much later in the year, Star Minds Interregnum, related stories of what happens to the Star Nations after the fall of the Galactic Empire and before the Humanoid Wars – that I will not relate, except maybe with a short story/writing exercise, since military SF is way out of my comfort zone. But then, I mentioned this year I want to try to write outside of my comfort zone and experiment, didn’t I? So we’ll see.

I will also write more short stories in the hope of submitting them to traditional markets and/or use them to lure newsletter subscribers and/or for Patreon. Mighty Jo is doing a series of posts on where to find her outside of Facebook – I’m not going to any of those sites, especially Twitter and Google+, so don’t invite me and don’t add me to your circle – and will stick to Facebook and Goodreads for the time being. But I think all writers should start considering Patreon seriously. In the words of my friend M.L. Buchman:

Just like Kickstarter, it began like a webcomic and music Platform and it is only just now being discovered by writers–with varying degrees of success. There’s plenty of room over there. And it’s a win-win. The more writers we get there, the more fans will be drawn to it who think, “Hey, each time they release a story, sure I’ll buy them a cup of coffee to celebrate.” So, check it out, maybe it’s a worthwile Platform for you to improve and monetize connections with fans.”

There are also two ways of finding patrons, monthly (like Dean Wesley Smith) or “per creation” (like M.L. Buchman), which is something I’m really considering this year that I’ll be slower with the “publish” button. Whenever I join, I know I’ll support the following creators:

Elephant Wendigo (my cover artist for Male Lovers)

Clarkesworld (because Neil Clarke is the best editor evah!)

Dean Wesley Smith (because he’s my writing guru and when I grow up I wanna be like him)

M.L. Buchman (since he says it so well! 😉 Besides, checking his page I discovered there are two ways of doing things on Patreon)

and then we’ll see who else joins! Will keep you posted when I do…

I shall leave you with Hugh Howey’s thoughts on the future of publishing. No, the sky is not falling, but it’s constantly changing – enjoy chasing the clouds and the stars passing by! 😉 And don’t forget that passion is key – if you’re in it for the money, you might as well quit now! 😀 Have a great week!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Thanks for the mention 😉 I’ll have to go take a look at Patreon and see what it is 😉

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

