Sunday Surprise


57a04-strange2bportalsAnd it’s another guest! From Strange Portals! And her story is actually one of the 5stars – I didn’t mention them all, but I had jotted down to contact the author for an interview and there you have it! Ladies and gentlemen, please welcome Adan Ramie!

Where do you live and write from?

I live in a small town in Texas. It’s a quiet, unassuming little city, which is nice, but I’d prefer to live in a less conservative state. I write in the middle of my living room, amidst the shuffle of family life; it isn’t always the best environment for concentration, but it helps me remain in control of the little ones.

Why do you write?

I write because it helps me make sense of the world. When life throws me curveballs, I can use my writing to help me process the emotions that are often too overwhelming to face head-on. I’ve tried NOT writing, and it was terrible.

When did you start writing?

I started writing as soon as I could make words on paper. I started writing short stories in elementary school and novellas around puberty.I wrote my first novel around fifteen; it has since been properly destroyed.

What genre(s) do you write?

I write mostly dark fiction. A lot, but not all, of my stories have LGBT+ themes or characters. Some genres my work fits into are thriller, drama, dystopian, and horror.

What does your writing routine consist of?

Most days I start by chugging down some water while I’m checking e-mails and doing other writing-related tasks. Then I eat breakfast, send the children off to school, and get down to the business of writing and/or editing. I tend to end my day with writing or writing-related things as well.

What do you feel are your strengths as a writer? How have you developed these qualities?

My strengths as a writer? I think my writing has a distinctive voice that carries a punch. I am often able to tell a whole story in a small amount of words. I’ve developed these qualities the way anyone would: practice, execute, fail, practice…

22842611Where do you find your inspiration? Do you put yourself in your stories?

I find inspiration everywhere. Sometimes I go looking for it in writing prompts. Other times, a phrase, scene, or feeling hits me, and the skeleton of a story is born.

I think a lot of authors will tell you that it’s difficult NOT to put yourself in your stories. A part of me, whether large or small, goes into everything I write. I try to stay out of Mary Sue territory, but I can definitely see myself and my life in the stories that I write.

Outliner or improviser? Fast or slow writer?

Forever, I was an improviser, a “pantser” without so much as a fully-formed idea, let alone an outline. But I couldn’t get any novels written that way. I have piles of half- or partly-finished manuscripts on my hard drive that are gathering figurative dust because I never played the long game with them. I didn’t think them through, and they ended up falling flat. Now, I plan and it works a whole lot better for me.

If I can get myself to sit down and ignore all the distractions that come with life, I can write pretty fast. I type at an alarmingly quick pace, and my brain is always going faster than I would like it to, so the words tend to come quickly. That being said, some things have taken me way too long to finish because I’m a chronic procrastinator. (But I’m working on that.)

AdanTell us about your latest book (add link if published)

Right now, I’m in the second round with my book, Maladaptation. It’s out with some beta readers, but I’m hoping I’ll start getting feedback soon and be able to do the last round of big revisions within the next month. I’m shooting to publish it within the next three months.

Indie publishing or traditional publishing – and why?

I like indie publishing. It’s an interesting process to me, and it appeals to me in the very different spheres of my personality. I love control, order, and a detailed process, and indie publishing definitely gives me that. I also live for pumping my creative juices into a project, and it gives me that, too.

That isn’t to say I won’t one day pursue traditional publishing. I have been published traditionally for several short stories. Some of the publications that have published my work are This Dark Matter, Paper Tape Magazine, and Skin to Skin. I’ve also been a part of two anthologies, Beyond the Nightlight and Strange Portals.

Any other projects in the pipeline?

Right now, I have a lot going on. When I’m not working on Maladaptation, I’m submitting short stories for publication, writing flash fiction for my blog, reading and reviewing books, and working on a degree. Who knows? I could have another novel almost ready for publication by the end of the year.

What is your goal as a writer and what are you doing to achieve it?

My goal is to be a full-time author who can pay the bills with her earnings. It’s all I’ve really ever wanted. What I’m doing to achieve it is to keep writing, editing, revising, submitting, and publishing. It takes a lot of work to be a full-time writer, and I’m giving it all I’ve got.

What is the best piece of writing advice you’ve ever been given?

That’s simple. The best piece of writing advice I ever read was from Stephen King. He said, “The scariest moment is always just before you start. After that, things can only get better.”

________________________

Where to find Adan

Blog: http://adanramieblog.wordpress.com

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/AdanRamie

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AdanRamie

Tumblr: http://adanramie.tumblr.com/

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Adan Ramie

     /  18/01/2015

    Thanks for the opportunity to appear on your blog, Barb!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Great interview! I loved Adan’s story too, btw 😀

    Like

    Reply
  3. Reblogged this on Authors to Watch and commented:
    Here’s an excellent interview on Creative Barbwire. Barb (one of the authors featured in Strange Portals) interviews Adan Ramie (another Strange Portals author). Read on…

    Like

    Reply
    • And any other Strange Portals author (or any writer, really) who would like to be interviewed like Adan – just drop me a line…

      Like

      Reply
  4. Reblogged this on theowlladyblog.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

