Sunday Surprise

Published 11/01/2015 by Barb

He’s the author of the month on the Smashwords Authors group on Goodreads, so if you don’t have enough with my questions, hop off to his thread and ask for more – or read other Q&A for this author! Ladies and gentlemen, please welcome John Paul Wohlscheid!

Where do you live and write from?

Grand Rapids, Michigan

Why do you write?

Because I can’t draw. Honestly, I love to create stories and characters. I have a very active imagination.

When did you start writing?

I always enjoyed creating my own stories. I think it started about 15 years ago. I had just seen The Patriot with Mel Gibson and immediately started writing a story about a group of Union guerillas working behind enemy lines during the American Civil War. Never finished it.

What genre(s) do you write?

TIMCThumbMainly detective, but I’m planning to write some western and sci-fi stories soon.

What does your writing routine consist of?

Sitting at my laptop and waiting. Once inspiration hits, I let ‘er rip. If I have a deadline, I work through the plot summary/outline as best I can. I then print it out and reread it several times with a red pen in hand.

What do you feel are your strengths as a writer? How have you developed these qualities?

I’m creative and I have a sense of humor. I’m a big fan of comedy shows from the 40s and 50s: Amos and Andy, Abbott and Costello, Martin and Lewis, Marx Brothers and so on. The creativity came naturally over time.

Where do you find your inspiration? Do you put yourself in your stories?

I’m a huge fan of old films, TV, and radio. I have listened to hundreds of hours of comedy, sci-fi, mystery, and western shows from the 40s and 50s. These shows inspired me to write my detective stories. To be honest, when I picture my main character I picture them with my face. (FYI, I only have male main characters.)

Outliner or improviser? Fast or slow writer?

I usually write anywhere from a paragraph to a page of plot summary. From there I more or less improvise.

I’m a very slow writerand I’m easily distracted. I often start working on a story only to jump to another story when it get boring.

DLAGHITMcoverThumbTell us about your latest book (add link if published)

I originally published my first ebook about a year ago, entitled Don’t Look a Gift Horse in the Mouth. It was a short story about a detective in the 40s named Benny Cahill. Someone suggested I publish a collection of three of more stories with the same character. So I did. Trouble is My Client contains four new Benny Cahill stories, including Where There’s a Will, Now Hear This, Reach For It, and To the Moon. You purchase a copy here: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/497797. It is also available from Barnes and Noble, Kobo, iTunes, and txtr. If you purchase a copy, please leave a review.

Indie publishing or traditional publishing – and why?

I picked indie publishing because I figured that by cutting out the middleman, I would get a better return. Also, I figured I had a better chance of getting published if I followed the indie route.

Any other projects in the pipeline?

I have a couple of projects I’m working on. In a week or so, I’m going to publish Fire in the Night, a preview of an unnamed novel that will be publish later this year. I’m going to publishing a collection of the lives of the saints. I also have several detective and westerns to finish and publish. I have lots of plans. Now, I have to see if I can accomplish them.

What is your goal as a writer and what are you doing to achieve it?

I have two goals. I would like to gain a following of loyal readers, who enjoy the same kind of stories I do. I would also like to pay off my student loans. Getting featured on blogs like this help with both goals. I’m planning to work on several marketing efforts to increase awareness of me and my stories. I’m also planning to release several more books in different genres to increase the ways readers can discover by books.

What is the best piece of writing advice you’ve ever been given?

Keeping writing. You writing will improve with practice.

____________________
Find John on Twitter, Facebook and Google+.
Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

