Sunday Surprise


He’s author of the month at the Smashwords Authors group, so if you’re curious about him and want to ask him questions that are not covered in this interview, just hop off to Goodreads! Ladies and gentlemen, please welcome Anthony O’Brian!

Where do you live and write from?

I was born and raised in a small town in North Central Idaho in the United States. Although I did live in California (with my parents) for nearly four years due to my dad’s work. Yet, we came back as soon as possible and have lived there until 2012. In 2012 I began to travel and work abroad with my non-profit corporation. We still travel at this time throughout the U.S. We live in a 5th wheel trailer, which faithfully follows our truck around the country.

Why do you write?

I write because I must! I write because I have to get the words out of my head! I love to write and sometimes when it is very busy there will be days that I simply can’t wait to get to my MacBookPro and began typing. Most of what I write is unpublished or not publishable material being work related. To answer the question frankly, I write because I want to communicate and I love words.

When did you start writing?

I started writing very young. I wrote, like most young kids and teenagers, poems, songs, ideas, etc. But I got very serious about writing in High School when I realized that I enjoyed it so much and was fairly good at it. Mind you, not necessary good at grammar and English, but good at creating and conveying my ideas. Even if I was the only one interested, I was hooked.

What genre(s) do you write?

At this point it appears that I am sort of painting myself in the corner of the genre of thrillers, but I am stubborn and my next several books will be out of that box. Really three of my titles have a thriller aspect to them, or at least mystery/adventure, but my first book, “The Two Schillings” was actually a historical-fiction epic. That is one of my interests, but quite honestly is difficult to pull off well – it is hard to be a convincing writer in this genre. Yet, I have a trilogy to finish and I MUST before I die…so I shall keep after it.

What does your writing routine consist of?

There is no established routine when it comes to punching the keys, except do it when and while you can. Day or sleepless night. When it comes to creating a story that is a little different.

  1. An idea comes to me. If I like it I say, “Wow!” and began to consider it. If I don’t like it, I move on.
  2. As the idea gains momentum I have to make the decision whether I will pursue it or not.
  3. Once the decision is made to pursue the idea I create the opening of the book, which is nearly always how it comes to me (with the rest latent in the back of my mind.) I often get the whole book in that first single thought.
  4. Once this opener is established I mentally build around it with characters, plot, motives, whys and wherefores, etc.
  5. Then I type, type, type…the work of an author. The fun part was daydreaming. (although I enjoy the creative process that evolves while writing).

What do you feel are your strengths as a writer? How have you developed these qualities?

I would hope realism. I want to write realistic material (for the most part) – something believable. Also, proficiency with the English language. I wanted to go to college and actually had a full ride offer for engineering school, but that dream was cut short by another road by my own choice, I followed a different profession. I have no regrets. I have tried to develop these skills by practicing critical thinking and trying to maintain a practical mindset approach to the logistics and mechanics of my characters’ lives. Also, I try to be very critical of my grammar, syntax, spelling, and language usage.

Where do you find your inspiration? Do you put yourself in your stories?

I find inspiration in man’s indomitable nature when it comes to hardship and impossibility. What I want to convey in my writings is that good will always prevail over evil; maybe not like we would think or prefer, but it will always win. Do I put myself in my stories? I am certain I do, though it is not always my intention.

Outliner or improviser? Fast or slow writer?

Mental outliner. Improviser in my writing, though not severe. When I get started typing I blaze away by the hour usually. Most of the writing volume takes place in these few sessions.

Tell us about your latest book

My latest book is called “Pushup King” (unpublished)

It is about a woman who is trying to keep house and home together after her war-veteran husband is injured on the job, nearly dying. Her husband was comatose, but she remained by his side until he awoke and now may be defying all medical odds by coming out of the trauma. It takes place in a small town in Wyoming and climaxes at an annual summer event. The end will be happy. (I don’t want to spoil it!)

Indie publishing or traditional publishing – and why?

Indie publishing. Limited funds, knowledge or ability to publish traditionally. Also, like the control as well as enjoy the process. I am not opposed to signing a mult-million dollar contract though!

Any other projects in the pipeline?

Absolutely!! The pipeline is jammed and backing up!!

What is your goal as a writer and what are you doing to achieve it?

I want to be a successful writer that sells many, many books and makes many, many book lovers happy. I don’t want to be or get rich from it I just want to make a lasting impact on readers everywhere. I don’t mind being famous after I am dead.

What is the best piece of writing advice you’ve ever been given?

Write every day. Though I don’t, it drives me back to the keyboard…it tells me that I am always behind schedule and depriving anxious readers everywhere of a good story!

Thank you for conducting this interview…I got to write some more!!!!

_________________________________

Where to find Anthony:

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Nice interview

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

