Writer Wednesday


I’m giving another shot at the pre-order buttons, so… you have one title out now and its sequel in a couple of weeks! 😉

Maru&CiCoversSaif&Kilig is now out on Amazon, Kobo, Smashwords, DriveThruFiction,  Apple and  Barnes&Noble! 😉 Please admire the wonderful artwork by Marurenai

Kilig&Hakeem – the complete story, including the unpublished sad ending – is already available for pre-order on Amazon, Kobo and Smashwords. It will come out also on the other three sometimes in early December (I can schedule DriveThruFiction publications, but no idea if Draft2Digital will manage to send it to Apple and B&N on time – they don’t have a pre-order button yet). The cover is by Cinzia Di Felice – cropped, you’ll see the whole masterpiece next year on the POD version!

Aaand! Another title is up – for FREE! It’s Guisarme, also included in both Wyrd Worlds 2 and Saif&Kilig. You can find it on Smashwords and NoiseTrade. Cover art by yours truly (meh. That’s why I’m not posting it on the blog next to the  other two ladies! 😉 But I’m a hobbyist artist, they’re pros! 😀 ).

Star Minds Next Generation update: since the short story I hoped could stand on its own turns out to be just the beginning of a wider picture and raises more questions than it answers, I’m incorporating it in the novel, expanding it. So I’ll have 4 parts, with one longer than the others – as the main action is concentrated there – and the whole book telling the story spanning many years, instead the concentrated two years of Star Minds Trilogy. So more like Star Minds Snippets with four stories pasted together covering a longer time span. In December I will complete this story, hopefully before the holidays (although I’ll try not to bother beta-readers during the holidays, I hope they’ll be available at the beginning of January).

There are still a couple of days to submit for the Anthology! Check the details here! And help us find a title!

Now, to the writerly links of the week! A mission statement from Writing World! If you haven’t subscribed to their newsletter yet, do it now. And get their Yearly Planner as well. I had it printed and bound and will try to keep a better track of my writing time next year.

Smashwords founder Mark Coker on ebook publishing and the challenges we’re facing. Here’s how to succeed! And remember, you fail only if you quit! 😉 Or, for another view, self-publishing reaches the summit – although I’d still make a difference between self-publishers and indie publishers, but I don’t want to bother you here. You just find your own conclusions! 😉

A few more for newbies: stay away from vanity presses. I guess I should translate this paragraph into Italian, since Author Solutions is now tarketing the Spanish-speaking market (but then, that’s a much wider market than the Italian one, LOL!). Check out this latest post by David Gaughran – especially if you’re not American. Penguin Random House might be coming to your country, and you better be aware. I did receive a couple of emails from America Star Books, but I promptly ignored them. And remember what Joe Konrath says – DON’T PAY ANYONE TO PUBLISH YOU!

Take the DBW writers survey – published or unpublished as you are. And you can tell them you heard about it on Hugh Howey’s blog, much like I did! 😉 (I’m linking to him because I’m not sure the link otherwise works…) And one more article with David Farland’s wisdom: provide your own inspiration. Nobody ever gave me cookies for writing, but kept doing it anyway! 😉

Have a great weekend! 😀

 

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

