Sunday Surprise


My name is Brenda de Zorig and I’m a journalist for the Konigtown Gazette. I’ve been on the road for years as an actress in an itinerant company, but eventually decided to go back to my hometown to start living of the thing I like the most – writing. So while I write my Masterpiece, I took this job at the Gazette and they send me on various assignments… I thought I might as well starting interviewing random people. Since I intend to write fiction, but truth is always stranger than fiction, I’m eager to hear about people out there – on my world or beyond.

So… oh, hi there, little one! Tell me a little about yourself.

“I’m Polly, and I’m 8 years old!”

Describe your appearance in ten words or less.

“Small, with sapphire blue eyes, golden-blonde hair, and freckles.”

Do you have an enemy or nemesis? If so, who are they and how did they become an enemy?

“I don’t know what nemesis means, but I know what an enemy is, and I don’t really have one of those. If the rest of the elves find me in the elf world then they might want to be my enemies though. I didn’t do anything bad or anything like that, but Derwyn and Arael – they’re my friends, even though they’re elves – they told me humans did bad things before, so now we’re not allowed in the elf world.”

Ah, yes, Humans tend to do a lot of bad stuff to magical beings! Happens in my world too – in fact we’ve lost touch with all the elves and faeries of our world! Would you kill for those you love? And would you die for them?

“I don’t want to die, and I don’t want anyone else to either. Mummy says my Grandma and Grandpa died, but that was because they were old, which still isn’t nice, but Mummy says it’s OK for old people to die. I’m not old, so it’s not OK for me to die. That’s why it has to be a secret that I found the door to the elf world when I was lost in the woods.”

Oh, I promise I won’t tell anyone. And of course you’re too young to die! I’m sure you’ll live at least to my age and way beyond – especially if you found some magic! Where do you live?

“I live on planet Earth in the human world, because I’m a human. Did you know there are other worlds? I didn’t, but there are. Don’t tell anyone though; it’s a secret. Anyway, my house is on the edge of the woods. It’s not a big house, but it’s a nice house, with plants growing on the outside of the walls. And I have a little attic bedroom all for myself.”

That’s nice! And I am fron another world, so I know about this… Are you involved in a relationship? If so, with who and what is it about them that you find appealing?

“Ewww! That means kissing and stuff! That’s so gross!”

LOL! Sorry, you’re right. I just got these silly questions… maybe I should skip some! What is the biggest challenge you face in the story?

“I’ve got to find the purple pumpkin so I can make a wish and go home. Oh, and I have to do it before the rest of the elves find out I’m in the elf world, or they’ll want me to be killed. Not Derwyn and Arael, because they’re my friends, but the rest of the elves.”

Ouch. That sounds an awful lot for a little girl like you! Do you have a family? Tell me about them.

“There’s me, and Mummy, and Daddy, and my big brother, Robbie. Robbie is four years older than me, and he’s always teasing me and taking my stuff. But he only does it when Mummy and Daddy aren’t there to see him and stop him. He thinks it’s fun, but I don’t like it even a tiny little bit!”

Ah, siblings. My sister is younger, but… brrr! Please give me an interesting and unusual fact about yourself.

“The only interesting thing about me was what happened when I got lost in the woods and found the door to the elf world. But you have to read about that in the story, because it would take much too long for me to tell you again. Other than that I’m just an ordinary little girl.”

Who has elven friends! What 2 or 3 questions do you wish I’d asked and what are your answers to them?

“You already asked lots and lots of questions, and I told you lots about me. Can’t I go play now?”

Sure! Poor thing…

______________________________

d40388e226a77c7ce70c8ceee77644540f223979_resizePolly is the main character of the story “Quest For The Purple Pumpkin” in the “Wyrd Worlds II” anthology. Get your copy at https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/478114 It’s a free SFF anthology available now! Go check it!

Victoria Zigler is a blind author of children’s fiction and poetry. She has a very vivid imagination, and spends a lot of time in fictional worlds; some created by her, others created by other authors. When she remembers to spend some time in the real world, it’s mostly to spend time with her hubby and pets, though sometimes to indulge in other interests such as doing crafts, listening to music, watching movies, playing the odd figure game or roleplaying game, and doing a little cooking and baking. Victoria – or, Tori, if you prefer – was born in the shadow of the Black Mountains in Wales, UK, has been writing since she knew how, and became a self-published author in 2012. To date she has published 5 poetry books and 27 children’s books, with plenty more planned for the near future. She’s also contributed a story to the sci-fi and fantasy anthology Wyrd Worlds II.

You can find the author here:

Website

Smashwords

Goodreads

Facebook author page

Twitter

Blog

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Reblogged this on Library of Erana.

    Like

    Reply
  2. This was a fun interview!

    Like

    Reply
    • since you’re back… I now can return the favor of character interviews… you know where to find me! 😉
      I have an interviewer from Silvery Earth after Katelina interviewed Kol-ian and Ker-ris! 😀

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

