Sunday Surprise


My name is Brenda de Zorig and I’m a journalist for the Konigtown Gazette. I’ve been on the road for years as an actress in an itinerant company, but eventually decided to go back to my hometown to start living of the thing I like the most – writing. So while I write my Masterpiece, I took this job at the Gazette and they send me on various assignments… I thought I might as well starting interviewing random people. Since I intend to write fiction, but truth is always stranger than fiction, I’m eager to hear about people out there – on my world or Beyond.

Hello there. Tell me a little about yourself

Ruby Iyer, 17 ½ years

Describe your appearance in ten words or less.

Angry

Do you have an enemy or nemesis? If so, who are they and how did they become an enemy?

My Ma and Dr. Braganza.

My Ma’s been like my worst enemy forever.

Dr. B, she just parachuted into my life. She wants to destroy everything I love, and of course I am not going to let her.

Would you kill for those you love? And would you die for them?

Yes. Perhaps ….

Where do you live(world/town/whatever)?

Bombay, India

Are you involved in a relationship? If so, with who and what is it about them that you find appealing?

It’s complicated

He’s just so different to me, Vikram. You know what I mean? He’s good for me. Yet he’s not the kind of person I would have chosen for myself. Still working this out.

What is the biggest challenge you face in the story?

Saving my best friend and my city from being destroyed by Dr. B.

Do you have a family? Tell me about them.

Unfortunately I do. But I normally pretend they don’t exist.

Please give me an interesting and unusual fact about yourself.

I had laser surgery to fix my short-sightedness when I was twelve.

What 2 or 3 questions do you wish I’d asked and what are your answers to them?

What is the one thing you want to do before you die?

Ans: Find a pair of jeans that really fit.

Okay, let’s see who else we have here… a young man! Tell me a little about yourself

Vikram, 22 years

Describe your appearance in ten words or less.

Tall, dark and… Surly

What is your role in the story?

Ruby would say I am her love interest. I say I am the one who saves her from many a tricky situation.

What is your relationship with the protagonist(s)?

Partners. We are the only thing standing between Dr. Braganza destroying Bombay city.

Where do you live(world/town/whatever)?

Bombay, India. But I studied at Oxford before I moved back to Bombay.

Are you involved in a relationship? If so, with who and what is it about them that you find appealing?

Bombay – I love the city, which is why I chose to come back home to serve her. Ruby too I suppose. Though she confuses me. I love her innocence and her spontaneity. But she can be really confusing sometimes. She thinks too much and ties herself up in knots.

What is the biggest challenge you face in the story?

Saving Ruby from herself. And then saving Bombay from Dr. Braganza.

Please give me an interesting and unusual fact about yourself.

I love smoking cigars. Picked it up in Oxford. And Famous Grouse is my choice of whiskey. It’s the Brit in me.

What 2 or 3 questions do you wish I’d asked and what are your answers to them?

Is there a sequel to The Many Lives of Ruby Iyer?

There is. I really come into my own in The Second Life of Ruby Iyer. Look out for it.

_________________________________________________________________

ManyLivesOfRubyIyer_cover_purpleBook(s) in which the character appears and links

Get your copy of The Many Lives of Ruby and The Ruby Iyer Diaries

About the author:

A near life experience told Laxmi Hariharan to write. She never stopped. Laxmi is the creator of Ruby Iyer, and the Bombay Chronicles series. London is where she writes. Bombay is what fires her imagination.

Follow @laxmi, on Facebook. More at Young Adult Old Soul

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Reblogged this on Young Adult Old Soul.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

