Sunday Surprise


My name is Brenda de Zorig and I’m a journalist for the Konigtown Gazette. I’ve been on the road for years as an actress in an itinerant company, but eventually decided to go back to my hometown to start living of the thing I like the most – writing. So while I write my Masterpiece, I took this job at the Gazette and they send me on various assignments… I thought I might as well starting interviewing random people. Since I intend to write fiction, but truth is always stranger than fiction, I’m eager to hear about people out there – on my world or beyond.

So, let’s see who we have here today… Yikes! Valfred myst have seen plenty of those, but I haven’t… Ehm… *cautiously approaces*  Tell me a little about yourself…

“My name is Cubby, and I’m a polar bear. I’m a little over two years old in your human years, which makes me around eight in polar bear years, since we polar bears mature at a point somewhere between four and eight of your human years. Mother says I’m growing up way too fast, and that I’m very responsible and grown up for my age. Well, most of the time anyway.”

Oh, that’s interesting… Describe your appearance in ten words or less.

“A little white bear with a big, black nose.”

Indeed… although you look huge to me anyway! Do you have an enemy or nemesis? If so, who are they and how did they become an enemy?

“My biggest enemy is hunger; I’m often hungry, because we don’t have much, and food, and money to buy it, never lasts long enough.”

Would you kill for those you love? And would you die for them?

“I’m not sure. I’m hoping I’ll never have to find out.”

 Where do you live?

“I live in a little wooden house on a mountain that looks over a little village. I’m no good at geography, so I’m not sure where it would be on your map.”

Haha, don’t worry, I’m not from your world anyway (although we do have polar bears on Silvery Earth)! Are you involved in a relationship? If so, with who and what is it about them that you find appealing?

“I’m close with my Mother, but that’s the only sort of relationship I have. I’m too young for anything else.”

What is the biggest challenge you face in the story?

“Deciding whether to trade our goat in for the magic wishing beans Neige the arctic hare offered me was quite a challenge. I think the biggest challenge though was trying to get away from Glaw the giant skybear when I was in his kitchen after climbing the beanstalk.”

 Do you have a family? Tell me about them.

“I have a very small family. It’s just me and my Mother. I have no brothers or sisters, and I’ve never met my Father; male polar bears are known for not sticking around, and my Father was no exception.”

Lots of Human fathers seem to do the same… Please give me an interesting and unusual fact about yourself.

“I’m one of very few polar bears not living on the ice. It does get quite cold on our mountain sometimes, but polar bears usually live further North along icy coasts.”

What 2 or 3 questions do you wish I’d asked and what are your answers to them?

“The first question you should have asked is why we live where we do when it’s not normal for polar bears. The answer to which would be that we moved here hoping things wouldn’t be so hard; do you have any idea how hard it can be to find food up North sometimes? It’s very hard! So we moved South in hopes things would be better.

The second question is what use a living goat is to animals who eat meat or fish. The answer to that one is that we also eat dairy, so we used to make use of the goat’s milk when she still provided us with some. Not all polar bears eat dairy, but we do.“

Wow, I wonder if Valfred knows any of this stuff! Maybe I should have brougth him along! Thank you for your time, Cubby!

***

Cubby and the Beanstalk Cover 1 - 1600x2400

Book title: Cubby And The Beanstalk

Buy it from Smashwords. Also available via other ebook retailers such as Apple, Barnes & Noble, and Kobo, among others.

Author bio & social media/website, etc.

“Victoria Zigler is a blind author of children’s fiction and poetry. She has a very vivid imagination, and spends a lot of time in fictional worlds; some created by her, others created by other authors. When she remembers to spend some time in the real world, it’s mostly to spend time with her hubby and pets, though sometimes to indulge in other interests such as doing crafts, listening to music, watching movies, playing the odd figure game or roleplaying game, and doing a little cooking and baking. Victoria – or, Tori, if you prefer – was born in the shadow of the Black Mountains in Wales, UK, has been writing since she knew how, and became a self-published author in 2012. To date she has published 5 poetry books and 26 children’s books, with plenty more planned for the near future.”

Website: http://www.zigler.co.uk

Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/toriz

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/toriz

Facebook author page:

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Victoria-Zigler/424999294215717

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/victoriazigler

Blog: http://ziglernews.blogspot.com

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. indiansinpakistanbook

     /  31/08/2014
    Reply
  2. I have read a few other books by Victoria Zigler and Cubby has joined the list of very interesting characters she has created. She has a pine apple loving dragon, a witchlet and now a dairy loving polar bear. Great imagination!

    Like

    Reply
  3. IntenseGuy

     /  02/09/2014

    Victoria is building a world of characters that are a bit different from the norm. Perhaps someday, Cubby will meet Daisy the Dragon and enjoy some pineapple. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • or they could al reach Silvery Earth and have a tea with my characters from different centuries… especially the most ancient won’t be surprised by talking animals! 😉

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

