Random Friday


So, after Loncon, the rest of my stay in London! 🙂 Monday (the 18th) I moved out of the Ibis Styles, took the DLR to Lewisham and then the train to my B&B in Grove Park. I dumped my trolley and went back to the center to meet with Laxmi, who is very taken with her upcoming book. Stay tuned for more on this very blog! That night I got a message on Goodreads from another author who saw me on Loncon’s programme… and we managed to set up a meeting for the next day.

Tuesday I went to Gay is the Word to donate two copies of one of the books I hadn’t sold at the convention. It’s very close to the British Museum where I was meeting my roomie Rachel. We spent the morning in the upper floors of the museum, had lunch, then I headed out for a walk and my appointment with JA Clement – I’ve met her on Goodreads, through Creative Reviews, but I don’t interact there anymore and I had posted about Loncon only on the Smashwords Authors group and the LGBT Fantasy group (nobody came from that group, apparently).

So I met with her, we had a great chat and wonderful French pastries (I had a “tarte aux fraises” much like in Paris), and now I know I have somebody else to contact next time I go to London! 🙂 I could move there anytime now, LOL! Anyhow, it’s always great to talk to other writers and their processes… hopefully I’ll have her as guest on this blog sometime in the future – especially if she has a new release.

Wednesday I had breakfast with Maurizio Manzieri – a very late breakfast, since my train to Charing Cross was canceled due to “train fault” (whatever that means), so I didn’t have time to go to Southall like I had in mind. I went to meet Viv, instead, since we’d set up the meeting months ago. It was a wonderful time walking around London with her, checking the National Gallery Portraits and discussing historical movies about the people we were seeing portrayed, having an ice cream in Covent Garden, and finally splitting in Charing Cross.

Thursday I headed to Hastings to meet Tori and again it was a wonderful day out, walking along the beach and chatting with her and her husband. She even presented me with a handmade unicorn for my collection – and I’ve now decided to call him Victory a.k.a. Vic! So here he is with the others, playing dreamcatcher over my head when I sleep! 🙂

unicornsThe oldest is Pinky, who was gifted to me by Renee (along with Sky some time later) way back in 2002… Most of the others I bought myself. And those are only the stuffed ones. I have pins, figurines, plates, pillows and then stickers, stationery… yes, mine is the house of the Unicorn! And I am the Lady of the Unicorn as well… 😉

By the way, if you like fairy tales, revisited or not, try Tori’s stories of faeries. I’ve read a few now, since they’re short, and I hightly recommend them. My favorite is still Jinx and the faerie dragons because it’s longer, and then I hope one day she does a collection of them all – not that I don’t like short stories, but buying a collection makes me feel better! (but please, Tori, don’t do it now, my TBR pile would never go down!)

And then I came back, late, and went back to work… sigh! Now looking forward to my next, longer break… in approximately a month and a half! 🙂 Have a great weekend!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. IntenseGuy

     /  29/08/2014

    🙂 I too hope Victoria writes longer stories and collections! I enjoy reading her stories a lot! Jinx and the faerie dragons was a “good read” (pun intended!)

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

