Writer Wednesday


And since I’m still in London and offline most of the time, I shall welcome another guest. Ladies and gentlemen, please welcome Kira Tregoning!

Where do you live and write from?

I live in Beltsville, Maryland and write from home most of the time. My cat tries to help me write, but her version of help isn’t really help!

When did you start writing?

I started writing stories as a kid. My first attempt at a novel started in the 5th grade. I remember staying for hours in my room writing up ideas and working out chapters. I used our old computer, a Gateway, for most of this. That machine seems like a dinosaur to me now, but I loved it and I used it so much I probably ran it into the ground!

What genre(s) do you write?

Mostly fantasy. I’m also interested in historical fiction, which I may try my hand at one day, and fairy tales.

Where do you find your inspiration? Do you put yourself in your stories?

I mostly think of the kinds of stories I would want to read and try to write those. My inspiration comes from anywhere and everywhere, but I tend to pull out elements from my own experiences. For example, college. I mashed that up with fantasy and asked the question “What would I do if I had magical powers while in college? What if my friends had powers too?” I just went from there. That tends to be how I start most of my stories—a simple question of What If?

Do you have a specific writing routine?

Not so much. I usually just sit down and write. All I need is either my computer or my notebook and pen. I’ve been known to write anywhere whenever an idea pops into my head.

Outliner or improviser? Fast or slow writer?

Definitely an outliner. I’m a planner. It doesn’t work out too well when I try to improv too much! And I tend to be a slow to medium writer, unless I’m really on a roll.

Tell us about your latest book

My latest book is the second in a series. A Shadowed Soul came out June 2, 2014. This book picks up where the first left off with the continuation of the story about Sita Newbury and her friends Roxie and Ariene. All three have magical powers and met while at college. They found a magical world and became active in the protection of that world. In the second book, their enemies circle around them, waiting for a weakness and a chance to strike. One of their own remains trapped in the Chaos world of Metanoia. And the threat of soul-eating demons called Pur looms ever closer with millions of lives and the survival of two worlds at stake. Sita and her friends Ariene and Roxanne must stay one step ahead of their enemies and find a way to track and defeat the demon Pur. But each of the Aligerai faces their own internal battle. When their enemies strike too close to home, the Aligerai must decide whether to stay together . . . or splinter apart.

You can find A Shadowed Soul on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Shadowed-Soul-The-Aligerai-Book-ebook/dp/B00KQPYGHM and on Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/444651

My first book is Rise of the Aligerai: http://www.amazon.com/Rise-of-the-Aligerai-ebook/dp/B00ANTA7Z6

Indie publishing or traditional publishing – and why?

I did my research for about a year before I published. I chose to self-publish because when I looked at what was happening in the traditional publishing world, I didn’t get very good feelings about it. It seemed to me from everything I was reading that traditionally published authors were doing the same amount of work as indie/self-pub folks, but earning a lot less from their efforts. Granted, the traditional publishing machines still have a lock on generating buzz, accessing bookstores, and lending credibility—but I see that changing over the next few years. I chose to self-publish for all these reasons and more, and I have yet to regret my decision.

Any other projects in the pipeline?

I’m about halfway finished with the third book in the Aligerai series. I have another book set in the same universe that is about a third of the way finished. I’m also working on an unrelated fantasy novel about a merchant’s daughter who mistakenly goes on a quest for a prize that doesn’t actually exist. What follows in that story is mostly a comedy of errors.

What is your goal as a writer and what are you doing to achieve it?

I suppose my goal is to write the stories I have in me as well as I can. I’m not necessarily writing for fame or fortune—although that would be nice! I’ve always loved books and writing and I see this as my way to contribute. I started writing because I had the stories in my head and my very active imagination and I felt if I didn’t write them down I would burst. I started publishing because I wanted to share my ideas and my stories with others.

Author bio and links:

My name is Kira Tregoning.  I’m a language enthusiast, writer, and book lover.  I graduated from University of Maryland with degrees in Linguistics and Classics, which I use in writing my novels. I’m also a big UMD Terps sports fan. Go Terps!

I read a lot, and the large number of books I have in my living space is a running joke among my family and friends.  Mostly I read fantasy, but I enjoy other genres as well, including historical fiction, science fiction, mythology, and of course the classic novels.  I write mostly fantasy books right now, though I have some ideas for expanding into other genres later on.

Website—http://theworldofcora.wordpress.com

Twitter– @KiraTregoning

Facebook– https://www.facebook.com/kiratregoning

Rise of the Aligerai on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Rise-of-the-Aligerai-ebook/dp/B00ANTA7Z6

A Shadowed Soul on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Shadowed-Soul-The-Aligerai-Book-ebook/dp/B00KQPYGHM

 Kira’s on Goodreads, on Smashwords and Amazon Author Central.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. New Interviews! | The World of Corá

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

