Writer Wednesday


I was rejected by the Rejections Anthology, but it was a nice rejection letter! 😉

Barbara–

It was a pleasure to read your essay. I know it sounds like bullshit for me to say that, but it is true. Writing is hard, but submission is harder, and we appreciate the time it took for you to submit, and the time we spent reading your work. While we didn’t find the piece a good fit, we hope it finds a suitable home.

We were overwhelmed with the number of entries, and so took extra care to read through each. What is most remarkable to me, personally, is how many voices are out there, demanding to be heard, and how many voices should be heard. Please continue working.

The idea for a book about rejection is not, pinky-swear, to solicit stories about failure.  The idea is to encourage resilience. The hard truth about writing is that one must continue doing it.

We know you will.

Thanks,

Marc

Absolutely, Marc. Here I am, still writing and enjoying the process. I’m kinda having fun collecting rejection letters – when I’ll be famous if will be even funnier! 😉

I uploaded another title on NoiseTrade – again, tip optional but not mandatory – The Warrior Woman. Allan de Sayek will be there until the end of the month. And of course, there’s still the Smashwords sale – everything 50% off except the latest title, so some stories have gone FREE.

Good news for the SKYBAND reader (hi, Jo!) – while typing the translation at the office, I’m penciling the pages of chapter 14 at home, so maybe before the end of the summer I’ll be done with another chapter! 😀 Maybe-perhaps-hopefully, I mean.

Writerly links: I’m tired of the Hachette/Amazon controversy, but if you don’t have enough yet, you can go to the usual suspects for updates (David Gaughran, Joe Konrath). Personally, I’m going to start boycotting those best sellers who are so scared of change – except… oh, wait! I’m not among their readers anyway! Ops! How does Mr Patterson actually write? I have no idea. Those people at the so called Authors Guild? Never read them either… bad writer and bad reader, huh?

Well, it’s my money and my reading time, so I’ll keep reading indies and looking for stories I’m interested in. I sure hope you don’t feel the need to be validated by an obsolete traditional publisher anymore, but if you’re still scared of the indie life, I’ll just point you to Hugh Howey’s post on Exciting Press – I’m also a nano press, but I’m not open to submissions! 😉 So if you really think your job is ONLY to write, find a nano press for your needs.

Me, I’ll keep doing what I’m already doing. Until I have fun. When I don’t have fun anymore, I’ll just stop pushing that “publish” button (note: not writing, but publishing). Maybe I’ll keep submitting the shorter pieces for a little longer, then I’ll just go back to my writing cave and live happily ever after with Mr Writing! 😀

Have a great week!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

