Sunday Surprise


My name is Brenda de Zorig and I’m a journalist for the Konigtown Gazette. I’ve been on the road for years as an actress in an itinerant company, but eventually decided to go back to my hometown to start living of the thing I like the most – writing. So while I write my Masterpiece, I took this job at the Gazette and they send me on various assignments… I thought I might as well starting interviewing random people. Since I intend to write fiction, but truth is always stranger than fiction, I’m eager to hear about people out there – on my world or beyond.

I have two people in front of me today… so let’s start with the lady!Stan1 Tell me a little about yourself

My name is Kate Garcia. I just turned seventeen years old. I’m Mexican-American on my father’s side. I’m an average California teenager.

I wonder where that place is! Describe your appearance in ten words or less.

I have brown eyes, and brown hair. Average height, weight.

Do you have an enemy or nemesis? If so, who are they and how did they become an enemy?

It would be Runyon Silverstar or the Ragoon District Supervisor. I had just left a movie theater in Modesto when I had the bad luck to run into one of the alien pseudo-lizards and its pet human, Jane Laurence. The Ragoon have colonized Earth, and supposedly we females are now the property of our closest human male relative. In my case, that is my dad, Carlos. Not that any true American accepts this. Anyway, the Ragoon asked if I had a note from my father allowing me to be away from my home town and my Comprehensive Personal License. Like, I would carry one of those. Since I didn’t have either, the lizard forced me into its van and we headed for the Merced Human Rehabilitation Center. But on the way, the van was sideswiped by a drunk driver who turned out to be a third rate actor by the name of Runyon Silverstar.

Now the tough questions! Would you kill for those you love? And would you die for them?

Honestly, I don’t know the answer to these questions. I like to think I would do whatever it took to keep my loved ones safe, but I don’t really know how far I would go.

All right, easier now… Where do you live?

I live in Livingston, California, which is a small city in central California.

Are you involved in a relationship? If so, with who and what is it about them that you find appealing?

No way! I don’t have time for that. I don’t care how beautiful or sexy he is, and I don’t care if he has been a lot nicer than I thought he was at first.

Good, a kindred soul! What is the biggest challenge you face in the story?

My biggest challenge is trying to figure out how to live in the same house with Runyon while concentrating on my school work. I don’t know why the Ragoon decided that I would be his parole officer. And I don’t know why they gave me to him. We’re not even related.

Do you have a family? Tell me about them.

My dad is Carlos. He and my mother are divorced, and I don’t want to speak about her. I have three brothers. Matt is older, works construction with my dad, and is really bossy. Juan and Pete are younger. I try to make them go to school, and I take care of all the cooking and the laundry and the housecleaning. At least I did before Runyon showed up.

Please give me an interesting and unusual fact about yourself.

I like to read plays by George Bernard Shaw. Pygmalion is one of my favorites.

What 2 or 3 questions do you wish I’d asked and what are your answers to them?

Why is Runyon such a jerk? Just kidding. He’s not really a jerk. I guess the questions I think about are those I ask myself, like, why didn’t my father know I was missing when I was incarcerated for days at the Human Rehabilitation Center?

Tough questions… you’ll find the answers when you grow up, I’m sure! Although seventeen is adult in my world… but I digress!

Let’s move to the gentleman, here! Tell me a little about yourself.

I’m in my early twenties, but I’m a lot more mature. I’m a famous movie star. I’ve starred in three important movies including The Bikini Wax Collector. I was considered for the part of Duque in Julee and the First Officer.

Movie… is that like theater? A story acted out? oh, you mean you can fix it on some support and watch it again and again? Cool! Describe your appearance in ten words or less.

I was the handsome, sexy star of the movie.

So the number one, got you. We had that on stage as well… *stares skeptically* What is your role in the story?

Oh, wait. In that last question you meant… never mind. I’m the hero of Kate’s Movie Star. It’s pretty much all about me, although Kate does play a big part as my love interest.

What is your relationship with the protagonist?

The Ragoon confiscated my comcell, so I can’t look up the meaning of protagonist. If you mean Kate, well, someone has to look out for her, and I suppose the Ragoon decided that I would be the best person for that job. Her family takes advantage of her, and some of the girls at school… Well, let’s just say that I’ve met nicer people in Hollywood.

I won’t discuss artists and performers with you! Where do you live?

I keep a huge house in Beverly Hills, and most of my time is spent on a set, somewhere. For the next year I have to remain in Livingston. I’m not allowed to leave this dinky city, so now I’m living in an old bomb shelter under the Garcia house. It’s like I’m a poor person or something.

Are you involved in a relationship? If so, with who and what is it about them that you find appealing?

Oh, yes, I’m involved with Kate. She really likes me; to be expected I suppose. Girls can’t help reacting to my smile. It’s trademarked. Seriously, I like Kate a lot. She’s cute, and she’s got a great butt. She’s a practical person and unlike anyone I’ve ever met. I don’t know that I would call her open, but she is definitely honest. The way people take advantage of her bothers me. I can’t say I’ve ever felt this way before. It’s disturbing. I know one thing, and that is, I am responsible for her, so the days of people taking advantage of Kate Garcia are over.

What is the biggest challenge you face in the story?

Living in this backwater town on a measly monthly allowance from the Ragoon. They’re giving me ten thousand dollars to purchase a car. What kind of car can you buy for only ten grand? Ridiculous.

Do you have a moral code?

Well, I’m the hero not the villain, so there is no reason for me to have a moral code. The Garcia family seems to have one. That’s interesting. I’ve never experienced living with a real family. It’s kind of cool. I mean, Carlos has rules, and they all obey him for the most part, even though it would be easy to get around them. But Pete and Juan cut classes more than they should. Kate wants me to do something about that.

Please give me an interesting and unusual fact about yourself.

My mother doesn’t like me to call her mother, so I call her, The Lady.

What 2 or 3 questions do you wish I’d asked and what are your answers to them?

Some questions about projects I’m interested in would have been nice. I’m thinking about doing a movie about the life of a famous old actor, Tom Cruise. I would play him, of course.

I have no idea of who the guy is, but good lcuck. Thank you for answering my nosy questions, both of you!

Book(s) in which the characters appears

Kate’s Movie Star (Book #2 of Tales of the Ragoon)

Amazon US

Amazon UK

Amazon Canada

Amazon Australia

Smashwords

Barnes & Noble

iTunes

StanAuthorAuthor bio & social media/website, etc.

I’m Stan Morris, and I’m so old, Josef Stalin was still alive when I was born in Linwood, California. Growing up, I lived in Norwalk and Concord, California. In 1972, I moved to New Mexico. I met a teenager at college in 1975, set out to score, and have been married to her since 1977. Early on, my wife and I made a deal. She would have the career, and I would stay out of jail. It’s worked, so far. We lived in Texas for five years, and then we moved to Maui, her home state. Yes, the weather is wonderful. We raised two boys, both gainfully employed, thank goodness. I worked at a variety of jobs before developing a computer business in the late 1980’s. Now we are both retired and living on a farm. I garden, watch sports, listen to music, read, and write. I don’t make much money at it, so occasionally I have to ask my wife for my allowance. I like science fiction (Heinlein, Asimov, Weber, Flint), romance (Krentz, Roberts, Morisi, Chesney), mystery (JD Robb, MC Beaton), historical fiction (Lindsey, Stewart), and history books (Shelby Foote, David McCullough, William J. Bernstein.)

Website: http://warmhawaiian.wix.com/survivingthefog

Twitter: https://twitter.com/morriss003

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/morriss003/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/stan.morris.127

Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/u/0/

Goodreads Blog: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2884264.Stan_Morris/blog

Readwave: http://www.readwave.com/morriss003/

Writerscafe: http://www.writerscafe.org/morriss003

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

