Writer Wednesday


BoI BoxSetThe box set is now live on Amazon, B&N and Kobo – Apple will follow. The B&N and Apple box set have a flat cover since D2D kindly informed me of the following issue:

  • Apple

The types of material at issue include:

  • 3D Cover: The content contains a 3D Cover.

Sales channels not listed above continue to receive this material at this time.

And then you wonder why I own i-Nothings. Since I go to B&N via D2D, I had to change the cover there, hence the flat cover for Apple and B&N and the 3D cover for Amazon and Kobo. Limited time offer, only until the end of summer! 🙂

It was brought to my attention that I can go direct to B&N now, and since I see some discrepancy between royalties (I’ve sold one copy of a book last month and one this month and the amount credited is not the same – 2.75$ vs 2.97$ same title, same retailer, B&N), I might slowly move everything to Nook press.

Although Mark Coker tells us that only through Smashwords can we do pre-orders on B&N. Except I haven’t found any benefit in pre-orders, so… I don’t know. Another account and another upload? Sigh. Maybe when I sell a little more? Decisions…

I was tagged by Rory in a blog tour I had already seen on Viv’s blog months ago – and had considered doing as per her invitation, but back then I was busy translating, not writing new stuff, so I didn’t. But this time the tag came at an excellent time, so I’m going to answer to those questions!

Barb’s four questions four answers – blog tour

Question 1: What am I working on?

The Assassins Guild of Godwalkar. I’ve decided its history, and am writing prequels to Saif’s Legacy before writing the sequel(s). I’m writing the conception of Hakeem, how Karuna became Kilig and something about Abhaya the Fearless, not to mention a couple more characters that are not in the novella, but will be in the sequels. And then I’ll start thinking about what happens to Kilig & Hakeem, since I’ve been asked for a sequel! 🙂 In June I plan on going back to translation – Male Lovers of Silvery Earth, which includes Saif’s Legacy, so I’ll probably continue writing the new stories along with the translation.

Question 2: How does my work differ to others of its genre?

It’s adult unconventional fantasy, character and plot-oriented with lots of “different” characters who struggle (or not) against society. No quests, no hero’s journey, just people from different cultures trying to fit in (again, or not – sometimes they’re just happy to be “different”). No epic battles of good vs evil, but adventures up and down the world – meeting people, doing things, finding themselves and their true dreams.

Question 3: Why do I write/create what I do?

Because it’s in my blood? I’ve been asked to run a workshop and teach how to write fantasy. I can’t. I can’t teach you how I do what I do. It just comes natural to me. I hear people talk in my head – see them like in a movie. Am I crazy? Probably. But since I’m having fun… I’m very happy I married Mr Writing! 🙂

Question 4: How does your writing/creating process work?

Sometimes I tell the story to myself beforehand. Sometimes I jot down notes and then improvise. Sometimes I do the cover or an illustration – like I did for the Assassins Guild. You’ll see the drawings I’ve done last week before starting the actual writing soon (okay, if you really want a sneak preview, go to DeviantART…)! 🙂

And now, to pass it on… Joleene Naylor and Michelle D.Argyle, please keep it going, thank you! 🙂 No writerly links – unless you want to hear about the Amazon/Hachette controversy, but you can easily go to the blogs on my sidebar to hear what they have to say (Smashwords, David Gaughran and Joe Konrath, mostly)… I have no opinion on the matter, I’ll just wait and see! 😀 Off to writing! Have a great week! 🙂

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Hi Barb, enjoyed reading this! Sorry I’ve been terrible at keeping up to date, I’ve been kind of otherwise engaged most this year and fallen way behind with blog reading. How cool you have a box set! Wow, I can’t wait for the day I have enough books to form a box set. It will happen sometime, but I’m such a darned slow writer it may not be for another 30 years! haha. Hope you are doing well and keep up the amazing work 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • Hi, Rory
      thanks for tagging me at the right time! 😀
      I thought since those books were the first I published back in 2011, it was good timing to do such a sale…
      And I’m sure you’ll learn to write quicker – as long as you don’t quit! 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. And that’s why I love your books because they’re different 🙂

    http://joleenenaylor.wordpress.com/2014/06/02/four-question-blog-tag/

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

