Writer Wednesday


So, I spent another long weekend writing and tinkering with my drawings! As I wrote the next story, it occurred to me that I had never written about twin royalty. I mean, we all know The Prince and The Pauper thingy, but what if there were actually two royal twins? Would their father kill one (or try to get rid of one, like a nobleman did in The Enlightened Emperor – and he wasn’t even king, but he couldn’t afford to split his fief among two firstborns) or would they just reign together?

Since I haven’t explored the most northern of the southern kingdoms so far, I thought it was a very good idea to do it. The two stories I had in mind spawned a third that ties them up. So here’s the blurb for something that will come out in the summer:

Amrendra

Once upon a time there was a kingdom that mostly followed the southern traditions and culture but differed from the others for two main things: it was blessed with four seasons – instead of three, led by monsoon rains – and with twin royals, so there were always two interchangeable kings…

That’s 3 More Tales of the Southern Kingdoms that will come out before the full anthology sometimes in July. And of course I’ll have to tweak the cover I had in mind, but this time I won’t ask for advice. You’ll have to stay tuned and see what I end up doing! 🙂

The finished story is around 18K, and I wrote them in five days – first longhand and then typed. I’m waiting a couple of days for a new pass in case I need more adjustments, then I’ll send it out to betas. By today I hope to finish the last Tale and then start writing the third body switch, for which I already have an opening scene, but not much else.

Since I’m almost halfway through my five-years-plan, I decided to start a spreadsheet with the actual unit sales – and I mean only the books that have brought me a few $$, so I’m not counting all the free copies I gave away at the beginning in the hope of getting reviews. Half the reviewers never delivered, so I’m not bothering anymore. If someone wants to read and review one of my books, use the contact page and ask for a free copy.

So, my bestsellers (meaning they sold more than 10 copies) are:

Johnny&Marian, published May 2012, sold most of its 35 copies with the old cover and 90% on Amazon. Last sale of this title is from Feb.2014.

Books of the Immortals – Air, published April 2011, the first novel to come out, sold 20 copies on all platforms (and I’m not counting all the free copies I gave to reviewers). Last sale: Jan.2014 – so it keeps selling 3 years after its release.

And then the surprise sales of 2014 – the Italian version of Star Minds. SM2 sold a record of 17 copies since January, 90% on Amazon.it, but also on Kobo, in spite of being clearly marked as Book 2. It’s available also on Apple, but not on any other retailer (B&N doesn’t really sell Nooks in Italy, so I didn’t bother to send it there). And the trilogy sold 11 copies since February on the three mentioned platforms (Amazon.it, Kobo and Apple). Which doesn’t mean I’m going to spend the rest of the year translating into Italian all the SFF stories, since I want to write new stuff! 🙂

Overall, I keep earning more and more, but I do have 75 titles out. Some don’t sell at all, some sell one copy or two, still there’s enough growth to keep me going. Of course I won’t be able to quit DayJob yet – not even at the end of the five-years-plan, but maybe, if I extend it to ten years… I know I’m in for the long haul, so, why not? I’ll just keep writing the next book – if it’s short, I might try to submit it to magazines first, but then I’ll keep hitting that “publish” button! 🙂

If you’d like to learn more about the Italian publishing world, here’s another article on Masterpiece, the reality show for Italian writers (where you’ll never ever see me). I subscribe to the indie author manifesto that you can find on the Smashwords blog, so I’m not really interested in traditional publishing at this time. And in case you haven’t heard, we shall be orphans of the Thursday Business Rusch posts. I sure hope you have bookmarked Kris’s blog for future reference anyway.

Someone pointed be to Awesome Indies (well, it was a suggestion for someone who had found a lot of crap among indies), so I checked their submission link… I’ve downloaded a sample of the book they so highly recommend, but it doesn’t tell me anything new… Now I wonder if my editors qualify and I can submit them something… Or I’ll just get back to writing, since I’ve given up looking for reviews! 😉 I mean, I already have the SROP rat of approval, what do I need the AIA seal for? 😀

Finally, I’ve been interviewed again! Please find me on Duane’s blog – and stay tuned for his interview, coming in May on this very blog! 🙂 And that’s all for today! Have a nice week!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

